East Penn Press

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Another View

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

America's hungry need your help

I am not a moviegoer, however, this weekend while surfing the Web, I came across a documentary "A Place at the Table."

The documentary, which features actor Jeff Bridges, examines the issue of hunger in America through the eyes of three families in Philadelphia, Colorado and Mississippi.

My mother, Dorothy, 84, offered her comments after watching the movie.

"It's [hunger] bad here at home," she said. "You do not have to worry about going to another country to see it."

She is right.

Getting older doesn't have to end a lifestyle

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

With the Lenten season upon us, I have heard folks discussing what they might give up between Ash Wednesday and Easter.

One man joked that as he has aged, he's had to give up so much, he has nothing left to sacrifice.

That comment brought to mind a couple in their 70s, friends of ours, who no longer travel because they say packing all their medications and medical devices is too much trouble.

Sequestration rally held in Allentown Concerned citizens organize 'Pull the Pork from the Pentagon' event

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 by EMILY THIEL Special to The Press in Opinion

With recent sequestration cuts looming, local groups Penn Action, Lehigh-Pocono Committee of Concern and Keystone Progress banned together in an effort to "Pull the Pork from the Pentagon."

A dozen people rallied outside the offices of Senator Pat Toomey, R-Pa. and Senator Bob Casey, D-Pa., where they heard from speakers Mimi Lang, of LEPOCO, Mike Morrill, of Keystone Progress and Robin Stelly, of Penn Action. Stelly said, "15,000 is not a number [Senator Toomey] should be able to ignore."

Editor's View

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The dangers of sexting: 'Is it really worth it?'

Salisbury High School presented an assembly recently on the dangers of sexting – a seminar offered by District Attorney Jim Martin's office for school districts in the Lehigh Valley.

Sexting is described as taking a nude picture of yourself or someone else with cell phone cameras and texting it to others or posting nude photos of yourself on social media such as Facebook or MySpace.

On the Homefront Allow your children to amaze you

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Our Christmas card last year was a picture of our family at a winery in upstate New York.

All decked in various shades of purple and gray and gathered on a rustic porch, we were celebrating the wedding of our eldest child on a picture-perfect day in the Finger Lakes.

I asked the photographer if the winery could serve as the backdrop for our family picture that I figured would end up as our annual greeting card later in the year.

The photo included my husband and me as well as my mother-in-law, our daughter and her fiancé, and our youngest son and his girlfriend.

Scott Ott announces bid for county executive

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 by LOU WHEELAND Special to The Press in Opinion

Lehigh County Commissioner Scott Ott, a Republican, announced his candidacy for Lehigh County executive recently in front of a room full of supporters at the Hamilton Family Restaurant, Allentown.

This is the second time Ott is seeking this office.

In 2009, he lost his rookie bid for Lehigh County executive against incumbent Don Cunningham by 862 votes out of 41,000 cast.

Ott ran for county commissioner citing the county's overspending and the 16-percent tax hike as motivation.

Dougherty seeks re-election to Lehigh County Commissioner seat

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Lehigh County Commissioner Dr. Percy H. Dougherty will be seeking another term to represent District 2 on the nine person board. The district covers Lower Macungie, Upper Macungie, Alburtis and South Whitehall.

Dougherty, 69, is a resident of Shepherd Hills and a retired Kutztown University professor. He has a Ph.D. in physical geography and geology from Boston University with a specialization in water resources and limestone landforms. He taught courses in environmental studies, planning, landforms, aerial photography, field techniques and Latin America.

Editor's View

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Winter offers interesting exercise options

If you don't like the weather, wait 10 minutes.

I first heard that saying while visiting Maine, but I think it holds true here too.

Friday was absolutely beautiful. I took in the sunshine and enjoyed a 75-minute walk outside through the neighborhoods of Coplay. It was so nice out, I didn't wear a coat and, at one point, I even took off my cardigan sweater.

Saturday wasn't bad but it was definitely colder. By Sunday, the winds made it feel downright frigid.

Another View

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reasonable regulations don't encroach on rights

I must re- spectfully, but emphatically, disagree with my colleague, Deb Palmieri's editorial of Jan. 30, "Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable."

Sadly, instead of recognizing that the right to bear arms, like other rights guaranteed in our Constitution, is not absolute, Deb results to the 'slippery slope' argument that other gun rights extremists are using, when she says, "First, assault weapons … and magazines holding more than 10 rounds will be banned. Then, semi-automatic pistols such as the Glock, will be banned."