East Penn Press

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Letters to the editor Writer supports Second Amendment right to bear arms

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

At what cost does freedom come? And what are we willing to pay to keep it?

We generally delegate that duty to our armed forces against outside enemies.

Did we ever think the day would come when we would pay a price to have to stand up against the enemy of our freedom coming from our own elected officials?

The latest attempt from our liberal government to chip away at our Second Amendment right to bear arms has resulted in the shut down of the Eastern Sports and Outdoor Show scheduled for Feb. 2 to 10.

SCHLOSSBERG REPORTS Schlossberg assails Gov. Corbett's liquor plan

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

By State Rep. Mike Schlossberg, D-132nd

Special to The Press

Gov. Tom Corbett's proposed privatization of state liquor stores is another example of governance by ideology, not reality.

Liquor sales generate $500 million worth of yearly state revenue. But, at a time when the state budget is already thin on revenue, this governor seeks to divest an important asset and set the stage for increased school taxes.

In an attempt to sell his plan, Corbett proposes to make education the beneficiary of proceeds from the sale of liquor stores.

ALBURTIS FIRE DEPARTMENT Remembering 'Siggie'

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by LORETTA FENSTERMACHER Special to The Press in Opinion

On Jan. 22, Alburtis began mourning the loss of another luminary in the borough when Paul Seigfried Jr. passed away at age 79.

Seigfried was born in Alburtis, grew up and married Barbara (Epting) and remained a lifetime resident of Alburtis. He was called "Siggie" by fellow firefighters and friends.

He was an Army veteran, Alburtis firefighter and currently Alburtis Borough's Emergency Management Agency coordinator, but Seigfried's life of dedication to others does not end there.

Editor's View

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable

U.S. Constitution Amendment II: "A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."

The Founding Fathers of this country lived under the tyranny of the monarchy of King George III of England.

The social and political changes in the 13 colonies leading to the American War of Independence, (1775-1782) put an end to that autocratic rule.

Nathan Brown declares candidacy for Lehigh County Commissioner

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Emmaus resident, Nathan Brown, 35, announces his candidacy for the Republican nomination to the Board of Lehigh County Commissioners in District 5.

Brown has been married to his wife, Liz, for 12 years and has two daughters, Hailee and Bethany.

Brown's full-time employment is as a life safety equipment installer and project manager for government entities, commercial and industrial buildings.

As a proud community servant, Brown has served on Emmaus Borough Council for the past six years and is chair of Community Relations and Development.

Cordner to run for mayor of Macungie

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Borough resident Gary Cordner is announcing his intention to run for mayor of Macungie.

Cordner has lived in the borough for five years with his wife AnnMarie and daughter Lera.

He is a professor in the Department of Criminal Justice at Kutztown University and serves on the Borough's Civil Service Commission. He was Macungie's Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator from 2010 to 2012 and served on the Vestry at St. Anne's Episcopal Church in Trexlertown 2009 to 2012, including senior warden in 2012.

Save our lands; save our towns

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by SHARON SCHRANTZ Special to The Press in Opinion

Pulitzer Prize Journalist Thomas Hylton spoke at the Macungie Institute recently about smart growth in communities.

Hylton described how towns were originally built with houses close together, stores within walking distance, doctor's offices, libraries and other community services all within the same area. The 1800s led to trolleys, trains and bikes making the travel time less. These methods were the way to get around until the 1940s when the automobile became the transportation of choice.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, January 23, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

'Friends' continue to object to Lower Macungie development

To the Editor:

The new Plan B is the result of the Friends organization holding Mr. Jaindl's and the commissioners "feet to the fire." The appellants have quietly pursued the legal channels available to them as citizens in an attempt to protect their property. There is nothing "personal' about that as Attorney Zator claimed.