East Penn Press

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

PSEA is the most powerful public employee union in the state

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I recently read about the Pennsylvania State Education Association union and its constant diatribe involving Betsy DeVos and Pat Toomey and it brought back memories from the time I served as a federal mediator in Ohio where that state, at that time, did not have their own mediation service so we feds did it for them.

‘We want our elections to be fair, our votes to count and our voices to be heard’

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

In response to the brave and angry letter of Regina Clark in last week’s East Penn Press, I heard you, Regina, and I support you. Senator Toomey is currently very comfortable with the extreme picks of Trump and why not?

Although Senator Toomey squeaked by in his two senatorial elections, for the next five years he can cruise. He can’t be bothered with the concerns of his constituents.

Travel ban shows White House ineptitude

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

President Donald Trump’s Jan. 27 executive order has led to some chaotic results that are making me nervous about our country’s new leader and his White House staff.

I am not surprised the order, which blocks admission to the United States by individuals from seven countries, was issued. After all, one of Trump’s campaign promises was to institute a policy of “extreme vetting” to keep the country safe from terrorists. We did not have to wait long for him to take the action. The executive order was signed just eight days after his inauguration.

Another View

Thursday, February 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How will proposed health-care changes affect you and your loved ones?

Four weeks ago, I watched along with other Americans as Republicans gained control of the 115th U.S. House of Representatives and Senate.

On Jan. 20, Americans and the world watched as businessman Donald J. Trump was sworn-in as the 45th president of the United States.

As a consumer of the Affordable Care Act, I have been closely following what the new Congress will do to the health care laws and the new health care plan they are expecting to propose to the 20 million American insured under the Affordable Care Act, known as Obamacare.

The Macungie Fire Co. is gone except for fond memories

Thursday, February 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

On Dec. 30, 2016, a piece of me was taken away; the Macungie Fire Company closed its doors forever. It saddens me because I grew up there, had my first real kiss from my first real girlfriend. But the dedication people had was unbelievable.

The kitchen was run by Manager Joan Wink, Betty Muth, my grandmother Linnie Helfrich and later Elaine Schmoyer. These women worked hard picking chicken pieces to make the popular chicken pies, shelling and cleaning clams for clam potpie, peeling potatoes for the weekly filling and making homemade hot bacon dressing.

Learning to discuss a higher being

Thursday, January 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I am always last — last to arrive, last to leave, last to get served at a banquet. Sometimes it happens due to my own fault, like because I am running late. But many times, if not most, I am at the end of the line because I tend to hang around and talk. I always seem to find someone to connect with, even in a room full of strangers. It is both a blessing and a curse. I even had the lights turned off on me at a viewing once. “Mom’s last call at the funeral home” is one of those family stories that will go down in history.

Words have consequences

Thursday, January 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Words are powerful.

Think about it. Those distinct elements of speech or writing have caused war, divorce, murder and other atrocities.

All that mayhem because of words, which are nothing more than sounds that come out of our mouths or squiggly lines and circles and loops and dots connected in different patterns.

Different sequences of words can lead to healing and peace and love.

Sometimes our brains and tongues don’t consult with each other before words come spilling out of our mouths.