East Penn Press

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A life lived for others is a life worth living

What's important in this journey we are all on called life?

Is it our job titles and the power and respect attached to our professions, careers and employment pursuits that make a difference?

Or, does the salary we receive, cars we drive and the apartments and homes we live in factor in determining our worth and our happiness?

Recently a friend's father passed away. He was, in more ways than one, a mentor of mine and a father figure.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Addresses not exempt when seeking 911 response logs

While the legal battle over release of public-school employee home addresses has continued to rage in Pennsylvania's appellate courts, another aspect of the home address debate is settled.

In Czech v. County of York, a unanimous panel of the Commonwealth Court clarified the parameters of the Right-to-Know Law's exemption for 911 records and information, holding that the law does not exempt address information from "time response logs."

Another View

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

America's hungry need your help

I am not a moviegoer, however, this weekend while surfing the Web, I came across a documentary "A Place at the Table."

The documentary, which features actor Jeff Bridges, examines the issue of hunger in America through the eyes of three families in Philadelphia, Colorado and Mississippi.

My mother, Dorothy, 84, offered her comments after watching the movie.

"It's [hunger] bad here at home," she said. "You do not have to worry about going to another country to see it."

She is right.

Getting older doesn't have to end a lifestyle

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

With the Lenten season upon us, I have heard folks discussing what they might give up between Ash Wednesday and Easter.

One man joked that as he has aged, he's had to give up so much, he has nothing left to sacrifice.

That comment brought to mind a couple in their 70s, friends of ours, who no longer travel because they say packing all their medications and medical devices is too much trouble.

Sequestration rally held in Allentown Concerned citizens organize 'Pull the Pork from the Pentagon' event

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 by EMILY THIEL Special to The Press in Opinion

With recent sequestration cuts looming, local groups Penn Action, Lehigh-Pocono Committee of Concern and Keystone Progress banned together in an effort to "Pull the Pork from the Pentagon."

A dozen people rallied outside the offices of Senator Pat Toomey, R-Pa. and Senator Bob Casey, D-Pa., where they heard from speakers Mimi Lang, of LEPOCO, Mike Morrill, of Keystone Progress and Robin Stelly, of Penn Action. Stelly said, "15,000 is not a number [Senator Toomey] should be able to ignore."

Editor's View

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The dangers of sexting: 'Is it really worth it?'

Salisbury High School presented an assembly recently on the dangers of sexting – a seminar offered by District Attorney Jim Martin's office for school districts in the Lehigh Valley.

Sexting is described as taking a nude picture of yourself or someone else with cell phone cameras and texting it to others or posting nude photos of yourself on social media such as Facebook or MySpace.

On the Homefront Allow your children to amaze you

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Our Christmas card last year was a picture of our family at a winery in upstate New York.

All decked in various shades of purple and gray and gathered on a rustic porch, we were celebrating the wedding of our eldest child on a picture-perfect day in the Finger Lakes.

I asked the photographer if the winery could serve as the backdrop for our family picture that I figured would end up as our annual greeting card later in the year.

The photo included my husband and me as well as my mother-in-law, our daughter and her fiancé, and our youngest son and his girlfriend.

Scott Ott announces bid for county executive

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 by LOU WHEELAND Special to The Press in Opinion

Lehigh County Commissioner Scott Ott, a Republican, announced his candidacy for Lehigh County executive recently in front of a room full of supporters at the Hamilton Family Restaurant, Allentown.

This is the second time Ott is seeking this office.

In 2009, he lost his rookie bid for Lehigh County executive against incumbent Don Cunningham by 862 votes out of 41,000 cast.

Ott ran for county commissioner citing the county's overspending and the 16-percent tax hike as motivation.