East Penn Press

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 1, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Family supports Roger C. Reis in primary

To The Editor:

We are writing this letter to support the re-election of Republican Commissioner Roger C. Reis in the next Lower Macungie Township election May 21.

Our family first met Mr. Reis at our son Derek's Eagle Scout project, The Freedom Memorial Garden, a memorial garden built in honor of military from the Lehigh Valley area who lost their lives while serving in Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom.

Kindergarten: ready or not?

Wednesday, May 1, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Every time I conduct a program for parents of soon-to-be kindergarteners, two questions inevitably come up.

One is, "My child is so smart that I am afraid she will be bored in kindergarten. Should I put her right in first grade?"

To this, I usually respond, that given the structure and higher demands of kindergarten compared to what it was years ago, this child is very ready for the pace of today's kindergarten.

ELECTION 2013

Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Winfield Iobst seeks re-election

Winfield Iobst has announced his intention to run for re-election of mayor of Emmaus.

He has been mayor of Emmaus for 16 years.

"I have served the Borough of Emmaus with integrity and if re-elected, I will continue to do the same."

Iobst worked for his dad in the dairy and bakery business. He said his father always taught him well and told him to "always be nice to the senior citizens– you will be one, one day."

"He told me to respect them and I do."

Another View

Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Violence is not the solution to our problems

This past week many of us were glued to the television, Internet and radio as we followed the Boston Marathon bombing and the recent apprehension of two suspects.

These events have caused me to ask of myself how and why man desires to harm other humans.

Thomas Hobbes argued in "Leviathan" man in a state of nature was "solitary, poor, nasty, brutish and short."

There is no question about it, more than 300 years later, man still has a predilection for nastiness and a sick bent to harm his fellow man, by word and deed.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 24 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ELECTION 2013

Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Munson to run for EPSD

Dr. Ziad Munson has announced his candidacy for the East Penn School Board.

"I am running for school board because I believe we need and our community deserves excellent, innovative schools that reflect our changing world. Great schools are the cornerstone of our community's future," Munson said.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Ryan Conrad

To the Editor:

I was happy to see Republican Commissioner Ryan Conrad's re-election announcement in last month's Press. I supported Commissioner Conrad in his first election in 2009 and observed how hard he works to get results for our community. He's helped reduce the Township debt, kept a zero percent tax rate, and made responsible financial decisions.