East Penn Press

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the April 24 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Cemetery Association asks residents to respect sacred ground

To the Editor:

The Lutheran and Reformed Cemetery Association is committed to preserve and maintain the Lutheran and Reformed and Northwood Cemeteries in Emmaus. The cemeteries are hallowed and sacred ground as the final resting place of hundreds of deceased veterans, firefighters, first responders and other citizens who contributed to the well-being of our community and served our community and nation.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Older drivers: Try before you buy

Last week I did something I had not done in 29 years. I bought a new car.

To regular readers and friends who know and admire my spiffy 1984 wagon: Don't worry. I did not part with it. Perish the thought.

Actually, that wonderful old car of mine was the main reason my husband and I decided to splurge on a new one.

With more than 130,000 miles on the odometer, my little red wagon was working too hard and deserves a good waxing and some garage time.

My husband's 1991 two-door model has logged over 200,000 miles, so we are reluctant to drive it long distances.

Another View

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

On being brave

We've been hearing a lot in the news about acts of bravery recently.

When bombs were detonated at the April 15 Boston Marathon, dozens and dozens of parade spectators, instead of running for cover, rushed to the aid of the hundreds of victims.

Many lives were saved because of their acts of courage that day.

A few days later, hundreds of police officers placed themselves in harm's way in pursuit of the alleged terrorists.

These are acts of valor, to be sure.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Vote for proven leaders Ron Beitler and Brian Higgins

To the Editor:

As a resident of Lower Macungie Township, I assumed as many others have, that our elected officials were doing their job. Recently, when PPL chopped down the 20-year-old pine trees along Sauerkraut Lane, I was stunned the residents hadn't been informed this was going to happen. We were told PPL had the "legal" right to do so. My question to the board of commissioners at the meeting was, why was there no back-up plan? The board president, Ron Eichenberg, shouted me down letting me know my argument was with PPL.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Eyer Middle School offers spectacular spring concert

To the Editor:

Thank you, thank you to Ms. Carrie England and the students of the Eyer Middle School stage and concert bands for a spectacular spring concert! We knew from the first note played, the students had worked hard to perform something very special for the audience. It was a true pleasure to see the students' respect and love for Ms. England.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, May 1, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 24 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor's View

Wednesday, May 1, 2013 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

They can knock us down but we return stronger and taller than ever

How fitting it is, following the April 15 Boston Marathon bombings by two brothers with alleged ties to violent Muslim extremists, that the final piece of One World Trade Center, the spire, was scheduled to be lifted in place on Monday.

Unfortunately, high winds and bad weather forced a temporary delay.

Installation of the 408-foot, 800-ton spire began last December with pieces made in New Jersey and Canada.