East Penn Press

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Editor's View Homelessness in the Lehigh Valley

Wednesday, October 3, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

It doesn't just happen on television

Often while I am working, I have the television on and if it is a Sunday night, I will usually be listening to "60 Minutes."

One recent episode on homelessness caused me to stop working and watch the entire segment from start to finish.

The interviewer spotlighted three families who were homeless in Florida. One family consisted of a young unemployed father and his two children who lived in a box truck.

His wife, the children's mother, had died and the father was unable to find a job in the construction industry.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 3, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

STRAIGHT TALK by Julie Harhart, R-183rd Pennsylvania Legislature supports our local heroes

Wednesday, September 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When you wake up in the dead of night to the smell of smoke in the house; when you're in a vehicle accident and are trapped in the car or when you're in a flooded area and need rescuing, it's our local firefighters who risk their safety to ensure yours.

Editor's View

Wednesday, September 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

We all need a day to do nothing

My birthday will be here soon. I will celebrate it by doing absolutely nothing.

I have jokingly dubbed my birthday "National Do Nothing Productive Day." It's not celebrated nationally but it should be. It's not that I think my birthday is worthy of becoming a holiday, but rather that I believe modern life has become overscheduled, making it necessary to actively seek time to do nothing.

Is trust in your vocabulary?

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The man didn't trust me. He told me so.

"It's not just that I don't trust you. I don't trust nobody," he declared.

I was trying to buy gasoline and wanted to fill my tank to capacity in order to track gas mileage. Thus, I had no idea what the cost would be until the tank was full.

He insisted I pay first.

Even after trying to show him my driver's license and registration and telling him I wrote for the newspapers just down the street, he wouldn't budge.

I wasn't used to that way of doing business. And I surely wasn't used to being treated with suspicion.

Volunteer Opportunities

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Miller-Keystone Blood Center, Bethlehem, is open Sundays for blood donors at the Bethlehem site and volunteers are needed to serve as canteen attendants.

Contact Naomi Pratt at 610-691-5850 or npratt@ hcsc.org.

·Downtown Bethlehem Association has volunteer opportunities for the Bethlehem Fashion Event Sept. 22.

Contact Kasara McLaughlin at 610-577-6962 or kasaram@lehighvalleychamber.org.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Remember the mission while mourning fallen American diplomats in Libya

While I am a staunch supporter of the First Amendment and the original purpose of implementing limitations and barriers on the government in suppressing speech, I also feel we, as individuals, ought to have some self-restraint and common sense when we express our views.

A controversial video titled "Innocence of Muslims" incited protests beginning Sept. 11 which resulted in the tragic death of U.S. Ambassador Chris Stevens, Information Management Officer Sean Smith and security personnel Tyrone Woods and Glen Doherty.