East Penn Press

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Dougherty seeks re-election to Lehigh County Commissioner seat

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Lehigh County Commissioner Dr. Percy H. Dougherty will be seeking another term to represent District 2 on the nine person board. The district covers Lower Macungie, Upper Macungie, Alburtis and South Whitehall.

Dougherty, 69, is a resident of Shepherd Hills and a retired Kutztown University professor. He has a Ph.D. in physical geography and geology from Boston University with a specialization in water resources and limestone landforms. He taught courses in environmental studies, planning, landforms, aerial photography, field techniques and Latin America.

Editor's View

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Winter offers interesting exercise options

If you don't like the weather, wait 10 minutes.

I first heard that saying while visiting Maine, but I think it holds true here too.

Friday was absolutely beautiful. I took in the sunshine and enjoyed a 75-minute walk outside through the neighborhoods of Coplay. It was so nice out, I didn't wear a coat and, at one point, I even took off my cardigan sweater.

Saturday wasn't bad but it was definitely colder. By Sunday, the winds made it feel downright frigid.

Another View

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reasonable regulations don't encroach on rights

I must re- spectfully, but emphatically, disagree with my colleague, Deb Palmieri's editorial of Jan. 30, "Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable."

Sadly, instead of recognizing that the right to bear arms, like other rights guaranteed in our Constitution, is not absolute, Deb results to the 'slippery slope' argument that other gun rights extremists are using, when she says, "First, assault weapons … and magazines holding more than 10 rounds will be banned. Then, semi-automatic pistols such as the Glock, will be banned."

Roger Reis announcescandidacy

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Roger C. Reis said he is seeking re-election to his seat on the Lower Macungie Township Board of Commissioners.

Reis has lived in Lower Macungie Township for over 20 years. After receiving an Honorable Discharge from the US Air Force, he enlisted in the Pennsylvania State Police and, after 25 years of service, retired at the rank of Captain.

He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in the administration of justice from Pennsylvania State University and a master's degree in public administration from Kutztown University.

Editorial current and most enlightening

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The McGrath letter is vague: vitriolic right wing, outrageously FAR far right wing, insensitive, offensive, etc.

The letter is in response to an editorial [Debra Palmieri, Jan. 30, page 14] that is factual, citing historical fact: King George, American War of Independence, Second amendment, adopted Dec. 15, 1791, Merriam Webster definition, difference between automatic and semiautomatic, on and on. Facts. More Facts.

If the McGraths have a problem, they should argue about the facts they disagree with, prove incorrect if possible.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The new green

Reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and supporting the smart growth of green technology is at the heart of the solution to most issues we debate in this great nation.

When we talk about gun related issues and problems with violence in our society, the greater issue is social stability coupled with economic growth.

Most people who have quality jobs and something significant to lose refrain from making horrible and atrocious decisions.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports FF&F spay/neuter program

To The Editor:

I am writing regarding Debbie Galbraith's article [Editor's View page A10 East Penn Press, Salisbury Press] on the ASPCA commercials published Jan. 17.

I liked what you reported about the ASPCA, but I am somewhat dissappointed you did not mention Forgotten Felines and Fidos shelter in your list of local animal organizations.

They have resided in Germansville, Heidelberg Township since 2000 and have a lot of cats for adoption, provide low-cost spay/neuter and desperately need volunteers.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR Writers say editorial is grossly insenstive and offensive

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

We have subscribed to the East Penn Press (and possibly its forerunners) since we moved here in '84, largely because we felt it was important to support our local community. But over the past year or so, we have become more and more concerned about the vitriolic right wing editorials that appear under the byline of Deb Palmieri.

She is of course, entitled to her opinions, but I find those opinions to be outrageously FAR far right wing, and often personally disturbing. Professionally, I find them to be oddly out of place in a small town newspaper.

Another view

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The Super (commercial) Bowl: Sunday night entertainment

It was Super Bowl Sunday, and I was home alone. With my husband out of town, Sunday evening was all mine to do as I wished. I was looking forward to having complete command of the TV remote.

I started the evening watching a recorded episode of "Downton Abbey," the current Masterpiece Classic series.

When 6:30 p.m. rolled around, the episode had just ended and I surfed the TV listings for quite awhile. In the end, finding nothing else of interest to watch, I decided to turn on the Super Bowl game after all, but not really to watch the game.

Letters to the editor Writer supports Second Amendment right to bear arms

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

At what cost does freedom come? And what are we willing to pay to keep it?

We generally delegate that duty to our armed forces against outside enemies.

Did we ever think the day would come when we would pay a price to have to stand up against the enemy of our freedom coming from our own elected officials?

The latest attempt from our liberal government to chip away at our Second Amendment right to bear arms has resulted in the shut down of the Eastern Sports and Outdoor Show scheduled for Feb. 2 to 10.