East Penn Press

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Editor's View

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Fasten your seat belts, 2012 is going to have a cliffhanger ending

If the Mayan calendar's end-of-the-world "prediction," doesn't kill us Dec. 21, surely the fall off the so-called "fiscal cliff" at the end of the year will.

If our elected officials, who spend more time on television explaining why they can't agree on a savings and spending plan, rather than actually doing something about it, fail to avert the tax hikes coming Jan. 1, 2013, we all will be dangling from the edge as our 401(k) plans dwindle and our grocery bills double.

Another view

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Twas the Night Before Fiscal Cliff'

'Twas the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land, was the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land,

Democrats, Republicans were taking a stand.

Their positions unwavering, intractably firm,

With donkey-like stubbornness or entrenched pachyderm.

But the public were hopeful all snug in their beds,

With visions of compromise alive in their heads.

"Come on!" said the people in frustrated dismay.

"Abandon this meaningless partisan fray."

When Obama and Boehner finally met,

House committee releases property tax reform recommendations

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by STATE REP. JUSTIN SIMMONS, R-131ST Special to The Press in Opinion

State Rep. Justin Simmons, R-131st, announced Nov. 30 the House Select Committee on Property Tax Reform has unanimously approved its final report, which includes recommendations to be considered by the House of Representatives.

Simmons was one of 13 House members from both parties who were appointed to the committee last June and charged with investigating all aspects of the issue, including municipal, county and school property taxes and releasing a final report by Nov. 30.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by TYLER D. MARTIN in Opinion

Infrastructure improvement should be a top priority

The railroad bridge collapse in the West Deptford area of New Jersey Nov. 30 should be a wake up call to fix our area's crumbling infrastructure.

As we all know, procrastination can be a dangerous thing.

This spill of vinyl chloride, a toxic chemical, into a feeder creek of the Delaware River has the potential to kill wildlife and taint a delicate ecosystem still recovering from the consequences of our country's industrial revolution.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

ARTSQUEST CENTER, Bethlehem - ArtsQuest's popular holiday marketplace "Christkindlmarkt" needs volunteers to take tickets, assist vendors, do crafts with children and help out in the retail areas. Contact Hillary Harper at 610-332-1370 or hharper@artsquest.org.

CANCER SUPPORT COMMUNITY GREATER LEHIGH VALLEY, Bethlehem, needs help to get their donation cans into stores, businesses, coffee shops, etc. throughout the Lehigh Valley. Contact Becky Morgan at 610-861-7555 or bmorgan@cancersupportglv.org.

Another view

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

The love of a grandparent is priceless

My grand parents, Geza and Violet Janzso, were amazing people.

They not only raised their own four children, but also openly accepted the added responsibility of taking my two sisters and me in, and raising us as well.

Now that both have passed away, I seem to appreciate more than ever their many sacrifices and the love, compassion and direction they provided to me.

What's even more incredible is that they were not only grandparents, but in every sense of the word, parents.

PENNDOT

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Operation Safe Holiday

PennDOT and police statewide are joining forces for "Operation Safe Holiday," an initiative including seat belt, aggressive-driving and impaired-driving enforcement aimed at keeping roadways safe this holiday season. The operation is under way, beginning with statewide Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement.

Through the New Year, police will also use sobriety checkpoints, roving patrols and regular traffic safety patrols to crack down on motorists who are speeding, driving aggressively or driving while impaired by drugs or alcohol.

Another view

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Make the holidays memorable for family members with dementia or Alzheimer's

Hanukkah and Christmas are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, laugh, sing, decorate and exchange presents.

For people living with Alzheimer's disease or dementia, the holidays can be a difficult and stressful time.

I have found with my mother, who was diagnosed several years ago with dementia, this is the time of year when she becomes more depressed.

STRAIGHT TALK Legislative accomplishments abound in 2012

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 by State Rep. Julie Harhart, R-183rd in Opinion

The 2011-12 legislative session wrapped up in November, and before we begin the new session Jan. 1, 2013, I think it is wise to take a look back and see what we have accomplished.

Of course, some years are more productive than others but, this past year, we have been able to make significant progress on several fronts that will help improve the business climate in Pennsylvania, increase safety and protection and honor our military men and women.