East Penn Press

Saturday, February 16, 2019

editor's view

Wednesday, January 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Teenagers finding new ways to get high

Alcohol is still the preferred substance for teens, according to Jennifer Britland with the Center for Humanistic Change, in Bethlehem.

Britland led a drug-trend training program recently for middle and high school personnel from Lower Macungie, Easton, Northwestern, Whitehall, Parkland, Freedom and the High School for the Performing Arts along with Lehigh University students and health care individuals.

The purpose of the training was to alert attendees to the trending drugs, recognize the signs and symptoms and learn the strategies to assist those with these problems.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR Guns do not kill people – people kill people

Wednesday, January 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Murder originates straight from the heart not from a weapon. From the heart comes the inspiration to kill, maim, torture, etc. In the heart is anger, hate, jealousy, greed, coveting, and selfishness. Kind, honest and loving people don't let these things control them.

Murder can be carried out by someone using a rock, vehicle, baseball bat, water, plastic bag, poison, etc., etc. etc. There is always a weapon or method available when someone wants to hurt or kill. Guns are just one method. Murder was happening thousands of years before the invention of the gun.

Editor's View

Wednesday, January 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

My New Year's wish for 2013

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu'm Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

The old year is gone; what is now beginning is all new.

We live through much fear and trouble; through nervousness and through fright; through war and through terror this covers the whole world and we leave this to the disposition of God from the new to the old.

Another View

Wednesday, January 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A resolution worth keeping

New Year's resolutions come and go.

Often they are short-lived, typically lasting no longer than a few days to a few weeks.

What should each of us resolve to do this coming year? What should each of us hope for and wish for this new year?

Throughout our communities are family members and neighbors who may be in need or want.

There are those inside our own workplaces, school, churches and communities who are hurting and in need of an ear, shoulder, hand and heart.

Furry friends need your help

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Neighbors, it is the time of year when we all get together with family and friends. Can you imagine what it would be like if you had none and no one wanted you? It is not a happy thought at all.

I'm writing to tell you about "Forgotten Felines and Fidos."

They are a nonprofit, no-kill shelter near New Tripoli and they sure could use your help.

It is particularly difficult to run a shelter like this because if the animals are not adopted, they are kept there for their lifetimes. They also provide spay/neutering services for very reasonable fees.

Thankful for all first responders

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The proposed budget cuts to eliminate standby firefighter crews and jeopardize the current level of fire protection/emergency response from the Emmaus Fire Department was thankfully defeated at the recent Emmaus Borough Council meeting.

In light of the Newtown, Conn. school tragedy and other life events, now is the time to remember, affirm, thank and support all emergency service first responders, individual unsung heros, teachers, compassionate caregivers and volunteers who daily give their lives for others.

Letters to the editor

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The real root cause of these tragedies

To the Editor:

We just returned from a trip off the mainland and hadn't seen any news the past two weeks, so when Sam, my husband, turned on the TV early this morning we were really shocked and heartsick to hear of the Connecticut child slaying.

It is beyond being able to describe the anguish and sadness to the families and also others who hurt for them, and can't do anything to alleviate this grief for them.

How to help prevent this from happening over and over in this country – it isn't gun control.

We get one chance to do it right

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

"You only live once," a friend who smoked and drank to excess since his teens would respond when I'd chide him about his body abuse.

Right. So since we get only one shot at life as we know it, shouldn't we try to make it last?

Today, as this friend lies terminally ill, far beyond medical repair, he has regrets.

But it's too late. His 62-year-old body has given up.

His sad situation reminds me of another friend who died at 50, the victim of lung cancer.

Another View

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When you have to go in ice and snow …

The cool air of winter is now upon us and it is time to make sure we are all prepared for the season.

Most of us probably wish we could snuggle up by a fire with a good book but commutes and travel do not stop because the flurries begin to fall.

Do a routine winter check of your vehicle to ensure you are prepared for anything Mother Nature throws at you.

Check your vehicle's fluid levels and be sure to fill up with a deicing windshield wiper fluid. Make sure your wipers do not streak and think about installing new winter blades.