East Penn Press

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 24 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ELECTION 2013

Wednesday, April 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Munson to run for EPSD

Dr. Ziad Munson has announced his candidacy for the East Penn School Board.

"I am running for school board because I believe we need and our community deserves excellent, innovative schools that reflect our changing world. Great schools are the cornerstone of our community's future," Munson said.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Ryan Conrad

To the Editor:

I was happy to see Republican Commissioner Ryan Conrad's re-election announcement in last month's Press. I supported Commissioner Conrad in his first election in 2009 and observed how hard he works to get results for our community. He's helped reduce the Township debt, kept a zero percent tax rate, and made responsible financial decisions.

Another View

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Stay safe as you venture outdoors this spring

Of the four seasons, spring is my favorite with everything beginning to awaken and renew after a long winter.

Trees and flowers are blooming; the birds are chirping and wild animals are awaking from hibernation.

Spring is also the time when Americans begin to spend more time outdoors exercising, playing sports, swimming, bicycle riding, camping, grilling and having picnics.

Even though spring brings warmer weather, it also brings with it many dangers.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Nutrition and the current generation

To the Editor:

When the phrase "fast food" is mentioned what comes to mind? Usually big name companies like McDonald's, Burger King, Taco Bell, etc. But have the school lunches the children these days are eating ever get mentioned on the list that so many people have in their minds? The answer: not very much at all. This fact should be addressed immediately. The lunches fed to students in schools are just as unhealthy as any other fast food in the country. This is due to quality of the food and school budgeting.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 24 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Boston tragedy once again rocks my wonderful world

It is hard to imagine a wonderful world like Louis Armstrong described in his famous song.

This latest mass tragedy, Monday at the Boston Marathon, had me again glued to the television once my fellow editor Deb Palmieri called and told me to put on the television.

Whoever is responsible for creating this havoc in Boston has not only injured 176 people and killed three individuals as of Tuesday morning, they have robbed me of my freedom.

Yes, I understand if I take this stand I am letting them win.