East Penn Press

Thursday, June 20, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What's in your filing cabinet?

It happens every year at my house as the April 15 tax-filing deadline nears. Once my IRS forms are filed, I take the folder with all the supporting receipts, invoices and forms to our home office filing cabinet to store.

Inside this drawer are numerous hanging file folders containing insurance policies, investment documents, automobile titles and loan papers and other documents. Stuffing the new file into what little remaining space, I ask myself, "Do I really need all this stuff?" and then, "Should some of this be more securely stored?"

Use the power that dwells within

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I laughed out loud while reading a query to a syndicated advice columnist.

A woman, who apparently is trying to lose weight, wants a coworker to remove his ever-present candy dish because the woman lacks the willpower to walk on by.

Unable or unwilling to adapt to her workplace surroundings, the misguided woman expects the world to adapt to her.

How ludicrous to demand all temptations be removed from our paths.

What about self-discipline and free will?

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The Emmaus community shares sadness and grief

To the Editor:

The Emmaus community shares the sadness and grief triggered by the recent tragic house fire. We support the Emmaus Fire Victims Funeral Fund in memory of the deceased victims. We extend to all the victims' families and friends, and the members of The Lutheran Church of the Holy Spirit church community our sympathy and prayers of care and concern.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Tax free bond subsidy should be discussed

To the Editor:

Has your paper discussed the tax free bond subsidy to Costco at Hamilton Crossing? This should be a worthy subject for all the Tea Party voters in our area.

The subsidy has not been approved yet or bonds sold.

Little is mentioned but I believe the end result is the developer is receiving funds from tax free bonds. It is a crime. The development should stand on its own without a tax subsidy.

Local resident announces candidacy for Upper Milford Township supervisor

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Republican James R. Krippe has announced he is running to become an Upper Milford Township supervisor.

Krippe has been a resident of Upper Milford Township for over 22 years. He retired two years ago after working over 40 years in the construction industry.

Krippe said he has attended 90 percent of the Upper Milford Township Supervisor meetings in the past three years and has voiced concerns several times on issues and expenditures.

On the Homefront

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Parental involvement means involvement

As often as possible, I stop what I am doing on a Saturday evening to watch the latest episode of "Too Cute" on the Animal Planet channel.

Last weekend I managed to catch the show. I took a break from loading the dishwasher, flopped into the recliner and began viewing a program about three sets of kittens.

Baby animals are indeed too cute as they get into all sorts of mischief and predicaments while exploring their environment and pursuing the quest for independence.

Editor's View

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Pope Francis, the embodiment of power and humility

As I finished the pages for this week's Parkland Press early Tuesday morning, I had one eye and ear cast in the direction of the television.

Pope Francis was being installed as the new Bishop of Rome; the spiritual leader of some 1.2 billion Roman Catholics worldwide and the head of state of the Vatican.

Such power and authority could easily turn the head of many a man.

Former Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio of Argentina, however, does not appear to be one of those men.

Republican Commissioner to seek re-election in Lower Macungie

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Republican Lower Macungie Commissioner Ryan Conrad announced he is seeking re-election to a second term after a decisive victory as the highest vote-getter in his first election in 2009.

Conrad currently serves as vice president of the board. He also announced the launch of his campaign website, www.ConradForCommissioner.com.

Trevor Schneck announces candidacy for Emmaus Borough Council

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Trevor Schneck, 33, a lifelong resident of Emmaus and a graduate of the Emmaus High School class of 1998, is announcing his candidacy for Emmaus Borough Council. Schneck is co-owner of Bar None Weddings & Entertainment and resides in Emmaus with his wife Amanda where they own a home and are raising their two children, Peyton and Brady.

"I'm running for council because Emmaus is my hometown. It's where I grew up and where I've chosen to maintain my roots and raise my family, I'm deeply invested in our community."