East Penn Press

Sunday, October 21, 2018

We get one chance to do it right

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

"You only live once," a friend who smoked and drank to excess since his teens would respond when I'd chide him about his body abuse.

Right. So since we get only one shot at life as we know it, shouldn't we try to make it last?

Today, as this friend lies terminally ill, far beyond medical repair, he has regrets.

But it's too late. His 62-year-old body has given up.

His sad situation reminds me of another friend who died at 50, the victim of lung cancer.

Another View

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When you have to go in ice and snow …

The cool air of winter is now upon us and it is time to make sure we are all prepared for the season.

Most of us probably wish we could snuggle up by a fire with a good book but commutes and travel do not stop because the flurries begin to fall.

Do a routine winter check of your vehicle to ensure you are prepared for anything Mother Nature throws at you.

Check your vehicle's fluid levels and be sure to fill up with a deicing windshield wiper fluid. Make sure your wipers do not streak and think about installing new winter blades.

Editor's view

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The heroes among us

Many of us attended church on Sunday; I'm not sure if it was because of the upcoming Christmas holiday or the overwhelming need to pray for the families affected by the shooting in Connecticut Dec. 14.

Sermons throughout our area were focused on trying to make sense of this event as well as trying to cope with the overwhelming grief all Americans feel, especially so close to the joyous season of Christmas.

Letter to the editor Showing kindness to Sandy Hook Elementary School

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Even with the magnitude of Friday's events, we can let residents of Newtown, Conn., know we are thinking about them and holding them in healing thoughts.

The children and families of their community are forever changed.

I would love to show support to the school from towns all over our area.

Have the children and/or adults in your family create artwork for the students of Sandy Hook. Even young children can contribute without knowing anything other than they are drawling a picture for other children to "cheer them up" or "make them smile."

KidsPeace offers assistance to parents in wake of school shooting

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Many parents have been asking for guidance on how to talk to their children about the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting and understand the short and long term impact of the events.

Jodi S. W. Campbell, MS, KidsPeace leader of the critical incident response team, assistant director of organizational development and training, shared with The Press tips for parents to help children in the wake of a large scale tragedy such as this.

Another View

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons from Sandy Hook tragedy

Christians are taught "all things work together for good."

This week, it's difficult to see how that can be true for the families and friends of the children and adults who died at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut Friday.

I am the mother of five children. They are grown now, but a mother always remembers her children as they were when they were young.

When Laurie was 6 years old, she was an instant mother's helper when triplet siblings joined the family. She would come home from school, put down her book bag and happily snuggle with a baby on the sofa.

VOLUNTEER opportunities

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

AMERICA ON WHEELS, Allentown, is seeking volunteers to help serve and take orders in the museum café. Contact Linda Merkel at 610-432-4200, ext. 11 or email director@americaonwheels.org.

CAMELOT FOR CHILDREN, Lehigh Valley Mall needs capable, experienced gift wrappers to staff a booth at the mall on various days and shifts up through Dec. 24. Contact Cassie Kemmerer at 610-791-5683 or email cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

Editor's View

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Fasten your seat belts, 2012 is going to have a cliffhanger ending

If the Mayan calendar's end-of-the-world "prediction," doesn't kill us Dec. 21, surely the fall off the so-called "fiscal cliff" at the end of the year will.

If our elected officials, who spend more time on television explaining why they can't agree on a savings and spending plan, rather than actually doing something about it, fail to avert the tax hikes coming Jan. 1, 2013, we all will be dangling from the edge as our 401(k) plans dwindle and our grocery bills double.

Another view

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Twas the Night Before Fiscal Cliff'

'Twas the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land, was the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land,

Democrats, Republicans were taking a stand.

Their positions unwavering, intractably firm,

With donkey-like stubbornness or entrenched pachyderm.

But the public were hopeful all snug in their beds,

With visions of compromise alive in their heads.

"Come on!" said the people in frustrated dismay.

"Abandon this meaningless partisan fray."

When Obama and Boehner finally met,