East Penn Press

Monday, June 25, 2018

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 7, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Do more than is required of you'

With the tumult and ballyhoo of the current election cycle behind us, let's look to the future with a keen eye toward our past.

Our veterans stood tall when the threats of fascism, communism and terrorism threatened our security.

Their blind and unyielding dedication to defending democracy and freedom has continually helped preserve all we hold dear as American citizens.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 31, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was Oct. 11.

Letters to the Editor, written by members of the community in support of a candidate, needed to have been received at Lehigh Valley Press no later than 5 p.m. Oct. 19.

Johanna S. Billings

editor

Another View

Wednesday, October 31, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Learning how to discern the whole truth

I don't know about you, but the amount of information presented during the presidential and vice presidential debates this year sometimes left my head spinning.

While I found it easy, as each debate concluded, to determine which candidate had presented himself most admirably, knowing how to interpret the purported "facts" presented was a challenge with which I needed some help.

The candidates spent weeks preparing for these debates, carefully crafting ways of presenting their viewpoints that would read well to their target audiences.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

What happened in Libya should not be politicized to gain political points

To the Editor:

As the mother of a foreign service officer and State Department diplomat, I was astonished when Governor Romney hit the airways politicizing the tragic death of Ambassador Chris Stevens and three other brave Americans in Libya. The Republicans are blaming the administration for lack of security. Ambassadors are expected to interact with the citizens of the country they serve and Chris Stevens did so with complete confidence in his relationship with the Libyan people.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Is photo identification worth the cost to Pennsylvania voters?

In 1907, Samuel Adams wrote about the right to vote.

"Let each citizen remember at the moment he is offering his vote that he is not making a present or a compliment to please an individualor at least that he ought not so to do; but that he is executing one of the most solemn trusts in human society for which he is accountable to God and his country."

When State Rep. Daryl Metcalf, R-12th, Butler County, decided to introduce legislation to require voter identification in March 2011, the ability to vote in Pennsylvania came into question.