East Penn Press

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Another View

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons from Sandy Hook tragedy

Christians are taught "all things work together for good."

This week, it's difficult to see how that can be true for the families and friends of the children and adults who died at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut Friday.

I am the mother of five children. They are grown now, but a mother always remembers her children as they were when they were young.

When Laurie was 6 years old, she was an instant mother's helper when triplet siblings joined the family. She would come home from school, put down her book bag and happily snuggle with a baby on the sofa.

VOLUNTEER opportunities

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

AMERICA ON WHEELS, Allentown, is seeking volunteers to help serve and take orders in the museum café. Contact Linda Merkel at 610-432-4200, ext. 11 or email director@americaonwheels.org.

CAMELOT FOR CHILDREN, Lehigh Valley Mall needs capable, experienced gift wrappers to staff a booth at the mall on various days and shifts up through Dec. 24. Contact Cassie Kemmerer at 610-791-5683 or email cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

Editor's View

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Fasten your seat belts, 2012 is going to have a cliffhanger ending

If the Mayan calendar's end-of-the-world "prediction," doesn't kill us Dec. 21, surely the fall off the so-called "fiscal cliff" at the end of the year will.

If our elected officials, who spend more time on television explaining why they can't agree on a savings and spending plan, rather than actually doing something about it, fail to avert the tax hikes coming Jan. 1, 2013, we all will be dangling from the edge as our 401(k) plans dwindle and our grocery bills double.

Another view

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Twas the Night Before Fiscal Cliff'

'Twas the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land, was the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land,

Democrats, Republicans were taking a stand.

Their positions unwavering, intractably firm,

With donkey-like stubbornness or entrenched pachyderm.

But the public were hopeful all snug in their beds,

With visions of compromise alive in their heads.

"Come on!" said the people in frustrated dismay.

"Abandon this meaningless partisan fray."

When Obama and Boehner finally met,

House committee releases property tax reform recommendations

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by STATE REP. JUSTIN SIMMONS, R-131ST Special to The Press in Opinion

State Rep. Justin Simmons, R-131st, announced Nov. 30 the House Select Committee on Property Tax Reform has unanimously approved its final report, which includes recommendations to be considered by the House of Representatives.

Simmons was one of 13 House members from both parties who were appointed to the committee last June and charged with investigating all aspects of the issue, including municipal, county and school property taxes and releasing a final report by Nov. 30.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by TYLER D. MARTIN in Opinion

Infrastructure improvement should be a top priority

The railroad bridge collapse in the West Deptford area of New Jersey Nov. 30 should be a wake up call to fix our area's crumbling infrastructure.

As we all know, procrastination can be a dangerous thing.

This spill of vinyl chloride, a toxic chemical, into a feeder creek of the Delaware River has the potential to kill wildlife and taint a delicate ecosystem still recovering from the consequences of our country's industrial revolution.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

ARTSQUEST CENTER, Bethlehem - ArtsQuest's popular holiday marketplace "Christkindlmarkt" needs volunteers to take tickets, assist vendors, do crafts with children and help out in the retail areas. Contact Hillary Harper at 610-332-1370 or hharper@artsquest.org.

CANCER SUPPORT COMMUNITY GREATER LEHIGH VALLEY, Bethlehem, needs help to get their donation cans into stores, businesses, coffee shops, etc. throughout the Lehigh Valley. Contact Becky Morgan at 610-861-7555 or bmorgan@cancersupportglv.org.

Another view

Wednesday, December 5, 2012 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

The love of a grandparent is priceless

My grand parents, Geza and Violet Janzso, were amazing people.

They not only raised their own four children, but also openly accepted the added responsibility of taking my two sisters and me in, and raising us as well.

Now that both have passed away, I seem to appreciate more than ever their many sacrifices and the love, compassion and direction they provided to me.

What's even more incredible is that they were not only grandparents, but in every sense of the word, parents.