East Penn Press

Friday, January 19, 2018

STRAIGHT TALK by Julie Harhart, R-183rd Pennsylvania Legislature supports our local heroes

Wednesday, September 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When you wake up in the dead of night to the smell of smoke in the house; when you're in a vehicle accident and are trapped in the car or when you're in a flooded area and need rescuing, it's our local firefighters who risk their safety to ensure yours.

Editor's View

Wednesday, September 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

We all need a day to do nothing

My birthday will be here soon. I will celebrate it by doing absolutely nothing.

I have jokingly dubbed my birthday "National Do Nothing Productive Day." It's not celebrated nationally but it should be. It's not that I think my birthday is worthy of becoming a holiday, but rather that I believe modern life has become overscheduled, making it necessary to actively seek time to do nothing.

Is trust in your vocabulary?

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The man didn't trust me. He told me so.

"It's not just that I don't trust you. I don't trust nobody," he declared.

I was trying to buy gasoline and wanted to fill my tank to capacity in order to track gas mileage. Thus, I had no idea what the cost would be until the tank was full.

He insisted I pay first.

Even after trying to show him my driver's license and registration and telling him I wrote for the newspapers just down the street, he wouldn't budge.

I wasn't used to that way of doing business. And I surely wasn't used to being treated with suspicion.

Volunteer Opportunities

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Miller-Keystone Blood Center, Bethlehem, is open Sundays for blood donors at the Bethlehem site and volunteers are needed to serve as canteen attendants.

Contact Naomi Pratt at 610-691-5850 or npratt@ hcsc.org.

·Downtown Bethlehem Association has volunteer opportunities for the Bethlehem Fashion Event Sept. 22.

Contact Kasara McLaughlin at 610-577-6962 or kasaram@lehighvalleychamber.org.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Remember the mission while mourning fallen American diplomats in Libya

While I am a staunch supporter of the First Amendment and the original purpose of implementing limitations and barriers on the government in suppressing speech, I also feel we, as individuals, ought to have some self-restraint and common sense when we express our views.

A controversial video titled "Innocence of Muslims" incited protests beginning Sept. 11 which resulted in the tragic death of U.S. Ambassador Chris Stevens, Information Management Officer Sean Smith and security personnel Tyrone Woods and Glen Doherty.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, September 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Safety concerns for MLK commuters

A routine drive home on Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard turned out to be a quite frightening recently underneath the Eighth Street Bridge.

A loud crash and millions of broken glass particles were splayed about my car, in my hair, in my clothing and on my skin. I initially believed my sunroof exploded.

As I pulled over and got out of my car to review the scene, I saw a hefty rock resting on my dashboard. A rock was pummeled through my passenger window, thrown by someone on the street. The rock shattered my passenger window and cracked my windshield.

Another view

Wednesday, September 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

On being prepared: If you can hear thunder...

When I read about massive earthquakes or devastating forest fires destroying communities, I often comment on how nice it is to live in Pennsylvania, where severe weather is not such a big concern.

The occasional small tornado or earth tremor make the news and cause a stir, but for the most part, we feel safe from Mother Nature's outbursts.

Last year's heavy snow on Halloween weekend set me straight, however, about how severe weather can come anywhere at any time.