East Penn Press

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Stay safe as you venture outdoors this spring

Of the four seasons, spring is my favorite with everything beginning to awaken and renew after a long winter.

Trees and flowers are blooming; the birds are chirping and wild animals are awaking from hibernation.

Spring is also the time when Americans begin to spend more time outdoors exercising, playing sports, swimming, bicycle riding, camping, grilling and having picnics.

Even though spring brings warmer weather, it also brings with it many dangers.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Nutrition and the current generation

To the Editor:

When the phrase "fast food" is mentioned what comes to mind? Usually big name companies like McDonald's, Burger King, Taco Bell, etc. But have the school lunches the children these days are eating ever get mentioned on the list that so many people have in their minds? The answer: not very much at all. This fact should be addressed immediately. The lunches fed to students in schools are just as unhealthy as any other fast food in the country. This is due to quality of the food and school budgeting.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 24 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Boston tragedy once again rocks my wonderful world

It is hard to imagine a wonderful world like Louis Armstrong described in his famous song.

This latest mass tragedy, Monday at the Boston Marathon, had me again glued to the television once my fellow editor Deb Palmieri called and told me to put on the television.

Whoever is responsible for creating this havoc in Boston has not only injured 176 people and killed three individuals as of Tuesday morning, they have robbed me of my freedom.

Yes, I understand if I take this stand I am letting them win.

The facts behind Jaindl's Lower Macungie rezoning plan

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

After nearly three years, litigation involving my proposed mixed-use development known as Spring Creek Properties in Lower Macungie Township has been resolved.

I initiated this settlement for two reasons – out of respect for the good faith efforts of the current township commissioners and in response to the input of several of the project's neighbors.

Doctor-assisted suicide: moral or immoral?

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Doctor-assisted death has been an issue dividing Americans since the days of "Dr. Death" Jack Kevorkian in the 1990s.

Doctor-assisted suicide, or euthanasia, is the voluntary termination of one's own life by the administration of a lethal substance with direct or indirect assistance of a physician. There are many supporters and opponents of this controversial issue, as seen from a poll conducted by Gallup in 2011, which shows that 45 percent of the American public believes doctor-assisted death is morally acceptable, while 48 percent believe just the opposite.

Editor's View

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Keep pill bottles away from children to keep them safe

I watched in disbelief a recent report on The Today Show showing 4-year-old children opening safety caps on various types of medication.

Not shocked, though, as we experienced the same thing in our own home many years ago.

When my oldest son was about 5 years old, he pulled a chair over to a kitchen cabinet, climbed up on the counter and found a bottle of vitamins, which in his mind, I suppose, looked like candy.

After a short period of time, my husband found him with the pills in his mouth and the red dye from the pills all over his mouth.

Guest View

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 by DAWN SETTLE and DONNA BENSON in Opinion

Ask your represent to support study of gifted

State Rep. Ryan Aument, R-Lancaster, introduced House Resolution 139 (HR 139) that called for a comprehensive study of educational programs available to gifted students in Pennsylvania school districts.

The House Education Committee passed this resolution with a unanimous vote to send it to the full House for second consideration on April 8 and a final house vote April 9 or 10.

The Pennsylvania Association for Gifted Education fully supports HR 139 and asks for help to make this gifted study a reality.