East Penn Press

Friday, November 16, 2018

Volunteer fire companies are vital to communities in Pennsylvania

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 by State rep. RYAN MACKENZIE, R-134TH Special to The Press in Opinion

Because volunteer fire companies play a vital role in communities across Pennsylvania and deserve support in their efforts to combine resources to better serve their residents, I was pleased that my legislation, House Bill 465, recently passed unanimously in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives. This bill, if enacted, would exempt them from realty transfer taxes as defined under Act 2 of 1971, known as the Tax Reform Code.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Recycling event was to benefit the angel network, not support political activity

To the Editor:

On March 23, Garrett Rhoads and the Eastern Pa. Business Owners sponsored an electronics recycling event at Willow Lane Elementary School.

At a meeting of the Angel Networks of the East Penn schools, Mr. Rhoads offered to collect donations on their behalf at the recycling event, which he presented solely as a service to the community.

However, Mr. Rhoads used the event to campaign, both verbally and with literature distribution, for the East Penn school board. He permitted two other candidates to campaign as well.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Looking at one text can be the difference between life and death

To the Editor:

Five seconds that's all it takes. Looking at one text can be the difference between life and death. Five seconds of inattentiveness while going 60 mph is equivalent to closing your eyes and driving 100 feet.

Vehicle accidents are the number one killer in people aged 15 to 20. The National Safety Council estimates 28 percent of all recorded traffic crashes, 1.6 million crashes a year, involve drivers texting.

Thirty-four percent of teens admit to texting while driving. Teens who text spend about 10 percent of their driving time outside of their lane.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Emmaus first responders serve the community

What happened on South Fifth Street in Emmaus on Sunday March 17 was a tragedy. Four Emmaus residents lost their lives in a horrific apartment building fire.

The tragedy has numerous tentacles.

Mothers, fathers, sisters, brothers, sons and daughters, workmates, classmates, church family, friends and relatives mourn their loved ones.

Many have heartache that time will help diminish but will never ever heal.

A community mourns the tragedy happened in their small close-knit town.

Another View

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What's in your filing cabinet?

It happens every year at my house as the April 15 tax-filing deadline nears. Once my IRS forms are filed, I take the folder with all the supporting receipts, invoices and forms to our home office filing cabinet to store.

Inside this drawer are numerous hanging file folders containing insurance policies, investment documents, automobile titles and loan papers and other documents. Stuffing the new file into what little remaining space, I ask myself, "Do I really need all this stuff?" and then, "Should some of this be more securely stored?"

Use the power that dwells within

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I laughed out loud while reading a query to a syndicated advice columnist.

A woman, who apparently is trying to lose weight, wants a coworker to remove his ever-present candy dish because the woman lacks the willpower to walk on by.

Unable or unwilling to adapt to her workplace surroundings, the misguided woman expects the world to adapt to her.

How ludicrous to demand all temptations be removed from our paths.

What about self-discipline and free will?

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The Emmaus community shares sadness and grief

To the Editor:

The Emmaus community shares the sadness and grief triggered by the recent tragic house fire. We support the Emmaus Fire Victims Funeral Fund in memory of the deceased victims. We extend to all the victims' families and friends, and the members of The Lutheran Church of the Holy Spirit church community our sympathy and prayers of care and concern.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Tax free bond subsidy should be discussed

To the Editor:

Has your paper discussed the tax free bond subsidy to Costco at Hamilton Crossing? This should be a worthy subject for all the Tea Party voters in our area.

The subsidy has not been approved yet or bonds sold.

Little is mentioned but I believe the end result is the developer is receiving funds from tax free bonds. It is a crime. The development should stand on its own without a tax subsidy.

Local resident announces candidacy for Upper Milford Township supervisor

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Republican James R. Krippe has announced he is running to become an Upper Milford Township supervisor.

Krippe has been a resident of Upper Milford Township for over 22 years. He retired two years ago after working over 40 years in the construction industry.

Krippe said he has attended 90 percent of the Upper Milford Township Supervisor meetings in the past three years and has voiced concerns several times on issues and expenditures.