East Penn Press

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Guest View

Thursday, March 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sunshine Week: March 11-17

Truth. Facts. Transparency. Simple words that shine even more brightly as we celebrate Sunshine Week.

This appropriately named week, organized 13 years ago by The American Society of Newspaper Editors and Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, helps all of us realize the importance of what freedom of information truly means.

Information belongs in the hands of the people, and officials of government should never shield the public from this constitutional right.

State Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th, exits congressional race

Thursday, March 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

State Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th, announced March 2 he will exit the race for congress in the new 7th District created by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court.

“When the Supreme Court threw the congressional elections into upheaval through its overreach and activism, I was approached by residents of all parties from my state House district to circulate nominating petitions for that office,” Mackenzie stated. “I did that and have now officially filed for state representative. I feel an obligation to answer the request of the people I serve and focus on re-election to the state House.”

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, March 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Add a state day and a parade to Barkley’s long list of achievements

You may know him as No. 26 — Saquon Barkley, the standout running back for Penn State’s Nittany Lions.

Here in the Whitehall-Coplay area, we know him simply as Sa-Sa, a Coplay resident and 2015 Whitehall High School graduate.

You might have seen him in the new Nike commercial, sporting the new Vapor Untouchable 3 football cleat.

You might have seen him in the Combine coverage on the NFL Network or videos on Twitter, running a 40-yard dash in just 4.41 seconds, putting up 29 reps of 225 pounds on the bench press and logging a 41-inch vertical.

Another view

Thursday, March 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Dancers come together to honor shooting victim

In today’s world, it is so easy to focus on the negatives and only look at the unfortunate events.

I personally choose to look past the sadness and heartbreak for the little glimmer of hope and goodness that always follows a tragedy.

The dance world is a tight-knit community. This was made especially clear after the tragic shooting Feb. 14 at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla.

Dancers from all around the world came together after the shooting to honor the life and memory of Jaime Guttenberg, one of the victims.

What is best for families?

Thursday, March 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thirty-five years ago, my husband and I attended a weekend retreat for engaged couples, a prerequisite for getting married in our church.

A total of 23 couples participated in the event at a cozy sanctuary in the woods. Veteran married couples led the activities that weekend, which included lecture, discussion, couple reflection time and worship.

When the retreat commenced on that Friday, we were introduced to a decorated box with an opening on top. We were encouraged to jot down and submit topics for discussion over wine and cheese the next evening.

Editor’s View

Thursday, February 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And yet again, we mourn

On Feb. 14, a very disturbed and well-armed Nikolas Cruz, 19, walked into Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla., slaughtered 17 people, injured a dozen more and calmly walked out with the crowd of terrified, fleeing students.

He was captured after purchasing a drink at a Subway inside a Walmart store and sitting for awhile at a McDonald’s.

According to published reports, Cruz, whom the Florida Department of Children and Families in Broward County says has a history of autism, ADHD and depression, has a violent history.

Another View

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protect yourself from scammers

Scammers are becoming more and more sophisticated with their ways to steal money or personal information.

An article, “Grandparent Scam Suspect Arrested, Others Sought,” on the WFMZ TV-69 website reported on a Bethlehem man awaiting extradition to Virginia after allegedly participating in a multi-state scam.

The article states Johnnie Vincente allegedly was in possession of an envelope containing $10,000 in currency from a senior citizen in Minnesota when he was stopped attempting to pickup a FedEx package using a fake ID.

Will Social Security be there for me when I retire?

Thursday, February 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I recently printed my statement from Social Security to see my projected benefits after reading comments on Facebook that the fund has been “tapped twice” and there probably won’t be any money for me when I’m ready to retire.

The saying, “You can’t believe everything you read on Facebook” is partially true in this case.

The years 2020 and 2034 seem to be important dates in the life of Social Security. Those are the years the funds may be in question with a projected deficit.