East Penn Press

Monday, June 1, 2020

Another View

Thursday, October 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Try these different options for trick-or-treaters with allergies

“Teal is the new orange.”

That’s what the cover photo says on Teal Pumpkin Project’s Facebook page.

It’s Halloweentime, and although many of The Press’ coverage areas had trick-or-treat night a few days ago, some boroughs and townships hold the annual Halloween event Oct. 31. If you haven’t yet purchased your goodies to give out to community children, you might want to add some nonfood items, too, if you don’t already have them.

Election Policy

Friday, October 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Friday, October 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s crunch time:

Voter turnout in 2018 was up in every county across the state compared to the last midterm election, increasing from 43 percent in 2014 to 58 percent last year, according to a Department of State analysis by Keystone Crossroads data.

The numbers in Lehigh and Northampton counties were just under that average.

In Lehigh County, 126,844 ballots were cast. Registered voters totaled 232,880. Voter turnout: 54.47 percent

Northampton County logged 116,860 ballots and 209,313 registered voters. Voter turnout: 55.83 percent

Another View

Friday, October 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let them work

The Supreme Court heard a few landmark cases for the LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) community Oct. 8. Two of the cases dealt with alleged discrimination against gay employees. The third involved a transgender employee.

The first two cases involve the late Donald Zarda, an employee of a sky-diving company, and Gerald Bostock, a child welfare services coordinator, who were both terminated from their jobs, allegedly after being identified as gay. Zarda made a reference to his sexual orientation to a client. Bostock joined a gay recreational softball league.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Friday, October 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

John Hart brings ‘extensive management experience’ to Emmaus Borough Council

To the Editor:

Municipal elections have the power to fundamentally transform our lives and how we interact with our towns. The futures of our towns are in the hands of our neighbors and it is very important that we exercise our vote in a considerate manner to ensure that people who respect the power of this role guide our towns.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

National Fire Prevention Week: ‘Not Every Hero Wears a Cape: Plan and Practice Your Escape.’

I cannot think of a better week than this to emphasize the need for volunteer firefighters in Pennsylvania — and especially in the communities in which we live.

National Fire Prevention Week, celebrated this year Oct. 6-12, was established to commemorate the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, in which more than 250 people died, some 100,000 were left homeless and more than 17,400 buildings burned.

The fire began Oct. 8 when, according to legend, Mrs. Catherine O’Leary’s cow kicked over an oil lamp. The blaze continued well into the next day.

NATIONAL NEWSPAPER WEEK

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local news starts with us

Newspapers have been the foundation of real news for over 300 years. While the delivery of the product has transitioned from black ink on newsprint, to the Internet, to smartphone applications and social media outlets, no other industry is as firmly rooted in the foundation of our nation, or our communities, as the free press.

Newspapers in Pennsylvania play a vital role in your everyday life.

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.