East Penn Press

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Writing a new story

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The off-the-top-of-the-head answer to the question, ”What motivates you to go to work each day?” for most of us is, “To put food on the table and pay the bills.”

But, there is usually a much deeper reason — a passion that draws us to our particular line of work.

For me, it is the morning news.

Whether it is the sunrise edition on TV, the digital version of the local paper or the actual hard copy, I seem to pick up on the same message: Families are struggling with raising their children.


Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate.

My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher” and “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.


Thursday, June 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a matter of trust

I am having a hard time watching television these days, and I suspect many are in the same situation. The Hallmark Channel has now become my “go to” station.

To me, it seems we have lost our sense of trust, decency, manners and security.

Recently, this is just some of what we have been exposed to:

•A comedian holding an inappropriate image of our president

•People physically removed from planes, because of overbooking

•Concert-goers, travelers and people attempting to enjoy their lives hurt or killed by ISIS

Life’s burdens need not defeat us

Wednesday, May 31, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whenever I see an ad or a label proclaiming, “One size fits all,” I know the item will fit almost nobody. At least it won’t fit very well.

I get the same feeling when I hear cliché phrases meant to encourage or sympathize.

Recently, I heard a woman tell an acquaintance who had just lost her 11-year-old son, “God never gives us more burdens than we can bear.”

The bereaved mother became irate.

“I disagree. This is much more than I can handle,” she retorted.


Wednesday, May 31, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A black day for many music fans and their parents

Dear reader:

Here we are again.

Eleven months ago, headlines blared the horrific news of dozens killed in the Pulse nightclub while enjoying a night out and the senseless murder of singer and reality show contestant Christina Grimmie, shot while signing autographs and chatting with fans after a performance, crimes happening within days of each other in Florida.

In an editorial around that time (The future of the future was now, June 15, 2016), I tried to call attention to the futures of so many young people cut short.

Christina Grimmie was 22.

Another view

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A home away from home

This is my first Another View column since coming back to Pennsylvania from Florida. No, it wasn’t a vacation. My husband and I adopted a beautiful baby boy, Benjamin, who was born March 21 — three weeks early.

We had been in the general adoption process for about a year and had waited around six and a half months to be matched with a birth mother. Two days before Christmas, we got “the call” from our caseworker that a woman who viewed our adoption profile thought we were the ones. On March 21, he was born 10:10 p.m. and we flew down early in the morning to meet our greatest joy.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Beware the results of unsecured technological advancements

Many things in life are like a double-edged sword.

A mother’s love can be warm and nurturing. That same “love” can be smothering and controlling.

Fathers and others who coach youth sports teams can draw out the best from young players, or they can be overbearing tyrants more interested in winning than teaching skills that can be used throughout life.

Water and fire are necessary for life. They also can be devastating and deadly.

Election Policy

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the April 19 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate needed to be received by The Press no later than April 28.

Obscene, profane and vulgar

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Many Americans have been astonished that the media are allowing the use of words which, until just a few years ago, were considered off-limits.

Readers are certainly more tolerant and less shocked than when I started my journalism career nearly 57 years ago. The same is true of other media, too. The word “virgin” in the 1953 movie “The Moon Is Blue” caused such a national scandal that it resulted in its being condemned by the Roman Catholic Church. Remember when Lucy and Desi, despite being married with children, slept in separate beds?