East Penn Press

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Santa answers readers’ questions

Thursday, December 21, 2017 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

We asked Santa Claus questions from some of our youngest readers who responded to our request on our Facebook page. What follows are the questions and Santa’s answers.

Q. What is your favorite cookie?

A. Chocolate chip.

Q. What is your favorite Christmas movie?

A. The Santa Clause, Santa Clause 2 and Santa Clause 3.

Q. Is it hard to convince the reindeer to fly?

A. No, not at all. That’s what the magic dust is for.

Q. Do you know how many children there are in the world?

Editor’s View

Thursday, December 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering those we lost during this holiday season

Many of our readers have been following the Guest Views written by former editorial assistant and freelance writer/photographer Mark Reccek documenting his battle with cancer.

Although a very private person, Mark felt it was important to share his journey with the readers and the many friends he had acquired through his work at The Press.

On Dec. 17, Mark lost the fight.

Mark was well-educated with multiple degrees, one being a law degree. He was studying to take the bar exam to become a lawyer to represent those who could not represent themselves.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Casting a not-so-wide network

Last week, when headlines announced devastating news such as sexual harassment and misconduct scandals, wildfires in California, ongoing problems in North Korea, train crashes in Germany and other events, a front page story in the “Wall Street Journal” offered readers a moment for surprise: details of the Rolodex of one-percenter David Rockefeller.

Another view

Thursday, December 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whichever holiday you celebrate, make it a good one

On Oct. 13 during the Values Voter Summit in Washington, President Donald Trump said, “We’re saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again.”

I didn’t realize the White House and Americans stopped saying this. We didn’t actually. At our workplaces, at our churches, at our family and friends gatherings and even at department stores, we still say “Merry Christmas.”

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, December 7, 2017 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

The perils of cancer treatment

My strong advice to anyone going through chemotherapy treatment or about to is listen to professional advice and heed any research you may uncover.

I finished my second chemo treatment Oct. 11. I personally didn’t think the treatment varied much from the first until a few days later. Rather than try to be as active as I possibly could, much of what I did involved sleeping a great deal. The excess sleep ultimately led to a short hospital stay — luckily, a stay of only a few days.

ON THE HOMEFRONT

Thursday, December 7, 2017 by DENISE CONTINENZA PENN STATE EXTENSION in Opinion

Resilience: the art of bouncing back

Sometimes I ask my adult children questions and really fear the answers. There is something about that kind of suspense, I suppose. So I did it again this summer when we were all together.

“What was the worst thing I ever did as a parent?” I asked them.

They responded all too quickly. Worse than that, all three of them had the same answer.

“You sent us to that after-school program when all our friends were able to go home,” they declared almost in unison.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Children can remind us of the importance of being thankful

When you want to see the good through the bad, when you want to truly experience positivity in a world of judgment and negativity, always talk to a child.

Kids have this amazing sense of optimism. Their untainted outlook on life can be a refreshing reminder that there is good in this world.

another view

Wednesday, November 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Snapchat — Fun or dangerous?

Snapchat is a quickly growing social media platform which allows people to send pictures or short videos, called snaps, to friends. The most popular feature is that these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear. It’s great for people like me who insist their pets are the cutest but don’t want to inundate Facebook and Instagram with cat pictures for fear of being a bother. Instead, I just take a quick photo of my kittens, send it to a few interested friends and then it’s gone.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Friday, November 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The gift that keeps giving must be the right fit

If you have ever loved and lost a pet, you will understand my family’s hesitation in getting another pet.

I’ve written about my pets before — a 16-1/2-year-old Old English Sheepdog and an indoor shelter cat we had for more than 16 years. Both pets died recently within six months of each other. We have been in mourning.

My editorials in the past have been about understanding the responsibilities of pet ownership before acquiring a pet for yourself or as a gift for someone else.