East Penn Press

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Will Social Security be there for me when I retire?

Thursday, February 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I recently printed my statement from Social Security to see my projected benefits after reading comments on Facebook that the fund has been “tapped twice” and there probably won’t be any money for me when I’m ready to retire.

The saying, “You can’t believe everything you read on Facebook” is partially true in this case.

The years 2020 and 2034 seem to be important dates in the life of Social Security. Those are the years the funds may be in question with a projected deficit.

Another view

Thursday, January 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The power and right of telling the truth

When I was a young child, I was sexually assaulted by a family member.

When I was a young teenager, I was sexually assaulted and harassed by a classmate.

And when I was a young adult, I encountered street harassment more times than I can count on one hand.

So when the #metoo movement started to catch fire on Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms, I joined in and reposted the hashtag and message, too.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Reset for 2018 by choosing your word carefully

How’s the New Year’s resolution coming along? Not so great, you say?

You’re not alone.

This is about the time the frustration sets in and the giving up begins, according to researchers.

Approximately 50 percent of the population makes a resolution to start the new year. Jan. 1 signifies a new beginning. We start the year with super hero-sized powers to do things differently than the year before. There’s a special kind of energy that comes with a chance for change.

Guest view

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Existence of your local newspaper at stake

The viability of local newspapers, including the one that you are reading now, is being challenged by the proposed newspaper tariff on the import of uncoated groundwood paper from Canada — the type that is used to print this newspaper and others across Pennsylvania.

Senator Toomey’s response to President Trump’s remarks ‘cowardly and spineless’

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Another day, another opportunity for Senator Toomey to show us his true colors.

In response to President Trump’s blatantly racist remarks about immigrants from Africa and Haiti, Senator Toomey produced yet another cowardly and spineless response.

Rather than outright condemn President Trump’s remarks, as anyone with some integrity would do, Senator Toomey writes how he “hopes” the President will retract the statements “attributed to him” about countries of which “he was accused of describing disparagingly.”

Another view

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Feminism and the ‘glass ceiling’ ‘

On Jan. 10, 1878, the amendment granting women the right to vote was first proposed. This right wasn’t permitted for women until the passing of the 19th Amendment Aug. 18, 1920. I know there is a lengthy process for such changes, but 42 years seems excessive.

It’s worth noting Merriam-Webster’s 2017 word of the year is “feminism.”

Guest View

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Nourishing the family

If you want to know how many items come up when you enter “manure” in the search box on the Penn State Extension home page, the answer is 61.

That is just between the various agricultural programs that provide education to farmers and growers. Really, there should be more.

Manure is a “nice” word or technical term for something else we also call fertilizer. But let’s face it — even in family relationships, sometimes things can get pretty ... well, you know.

Editor’s View

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

My New Year’s wish for 2018

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu’m Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

The old year is gone; what is now beginning is all new.

We live through much fear and trouble; through nervousness and through fright; through war and through terror this covers the whole world and we leave this to the disposition of God from the new to the old.

Another View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Kids bullying kids’ needs to stop

My heart sunk recently when I read a couple of news stories about two young girls killing themselves after enduring weeks of bullying at their schools.

In the first news story dated Nov. 30 and titled “Aurora 10-year-old takes her own life after suspected bullying incident caught on camera” by Ashley Michels from Fox 31 in Denver, Colo., Ashawnty Davis, a fifth grader, hung herself after she was allegedly seen defending herself in a bullying incident caught on video and posted to the app Musical.ly.