East Penn Press

Monday, October 22, 2018

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will you pay to connect?

It has been a little over a month since the news broke of the Facebook data breach involving Cambridge Analytica.

At least 87 million Facebook users were impacted.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologized, appeared before Congress and went on a social media frenzy noting upcoming changes to the social media giant to ensure the privacy of users going forward.

During Zuckerberg’s testimony before Congress, Sen. Orin Hatch asked Zuckerberg if Facebook would always be free.

Zuckerberg responded, “Yes, there will always be a version of Facebook that is free.”

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the death of Dr. Donald Jaffe

To the Editor:

We mourn the recent death of our friend, Dr. Donald Jaffe. As a member, treasurer and benefactor of the Shelter House Society and numerous other civic and community service to other organizations he served with distinction and honor for the well-being of the East Penn community.

Two marked Jaffe benches and his inscribed name on our meritorious service plaque at the Shelter House bear witness to his service, to our country and the Emmaus and East Penn community.

Rev. Fred S. Foerster

Shelter House Society

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is big data trending?

Cambridge Analytica is closing.

In May 2 headlines in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, the firm announced plans to file for bankruptcy and, effectively shut down.

Cambridge Analytica recently was at the center of a political storm after revelations of its role in the 2016 U.S. presidential campaign and how big data harvested from social media can be used or misused.

Another view

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Taking a look back at the history of Mother’s Day

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.”

— “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

As I sit down to start this another view piece on a Thursday when I’m not in the office, my 13-month-old son and I have already read five books, enjoyed breakfast and a snack, did a Target run, played with blocks, toys and a push cart and listened to the “Moana” soundtrack twice. I’ll throw in there a poopy diaper, too.

And it’s only 10:38 a.m. But this is a good morning — no mild temper tantrums … yet. (And I thought they didn’t start until 2 years old. My bad.)

Election Policy

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, have halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Writer supports Susan Wild for Congress

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Our country needs change. Desperately. Change in Washington, D.C.

The forces of gerrymandering and huge money in politics are stealing away our democracy.

In D.C., we need a U.S. House member who will work daily on issues important to the vast majority. One who will work to preserve Social Security and Medicare. One who will fight for our families, working people and the middle class.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thanks to Ron Beitler and CEPTA

To the Editor:

Last night [April 17], I attended the Concerned East Penn Taxpayer debate for the 134th district state representative race between Ron Beitler and Ryan Mackenzie.

CEPTA has been hosting almost all local race debates since 1980. The problem was that Ryan Mackenzie did not show up for the debate even though his Harrisburg duties did not interfere with the event.

This is not the first time he has ducked a debate.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Be a donor — don’t take your organs to Heaven

“Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud.”

— Maya Angelou

***

Every 10 minutes, a new name is added to the waiting list for an organ transplant. Nearly 115,000 names are on that list. Those names might be faces that are familiar to you or be complete strangers.

But as an organ donor, you have the ability to save eight of them. Just you. Eight lives.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.