East Penn Press

Monday, June 1, 2020

Why it’s important to support Governor Wolf’s Charter reforms

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The reason I sought a school board position is because, in my opinion, public schools are one of the most (if not the most) important thing we as a community collectively do.

Over 90 percent of us learn to read and write, tackle math and science, find our passion and purpose, in public schools. They’re a springboard to opportunities of all kind. They anchor our neighborhoods. They train our future local leaders.

GUEST VIEWs

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

PA House Bill that would force the closure

Pennsylvania House Bill 1897 has been introduced in Harrisburg. It would force school districts to have a Cyber School Program and for all 14 public cyber charter schools to close.

The main points of this legislation are:

• All Pennsylvania cyber charter schools must cease operations after next year (2020-2021).

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Desperately seeking honest people

Last month, my husband bought a new vehicle. We decided to sell the truck he had been driving on a daily basis as well as his beloved 1980 Jeep CJ5 Renegade, which he restored and has cared for more than 30 years.

We posted ads on both letgo and Craigslist, listing the basic info — make, model, year and asking price.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Images ....

Born in the 1950s, I have lived in or through seven decades as we enter this new year.

Never did I consider the year 2020. Graduation dates — from high school, from college — were the milestones to be reached.

Maybe it’s the symmetry of the numerals — 20 and 20 — that has led to this journey through mental imagery.

I remember being escorted single file to the lowest level of my elementary school and told to face the concrete wall outside the boiler room.

Another view

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Women never stopped being great

Are you a poor, lonely, sad, single woman having a hard time finding the right man to take care of you? Have you forgotten how to be a woman? Have no fear, the men of the manosphere are here to save you and re-educate you in how to be a “proper” woman.

Don’t miss “The 22 Convention: Make Women Great Again,” planned for May 1-3 in Orlando, Fla. At this convention, the roster of all-male speakers promises to “help you dramatically improve your life as a woman and total femininity.”

Another View

Wednesday, January 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Seeking mental health care should not come with a stigma attached

Everyone, from time to time, experiences emotional ups and downs caused by events in his or her life or from more severe clinical mental health conditions.

Many individuals suffer in silence and do not seek help from mental health care professionals for fear of being judged by family, friends or co-workers.

Oprah recently discussed mental health issues with singer Lady Gaga during the first of several interviews in Oprah’s “2020 Vision: Your Life in Focus” cross-country tour.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

We can’t ignore global warming, not with Greta Thunberg leading the way

When my children were younger, a favorite 1996 movie was “Alaska,” a story about two children who searched for their missing father in the mountains of Alaska. Along the way, the two learn valuable lessons and meet a baby polar bear on the run from poachers. My children loved the adventures of the baby polar bear. My youngest son had a stuffed polar bear we affectionately named “Cubby” from the movie.

So should we be concerned about the images we see of the starving polar bears in Alaska losing their homes?

ANOTHER VIEW

Monday, December 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Bringing back civility one door at time

A workday morning and things were not going well so far.

Leaving home later than planned. No time for breakfast. Traffic to work heavier than expected.

And the gas gauge was closer to E than F.

In a hurry I was distracted, mentally calculating if I would be on time, when the door of the Wawa, Cedar Crest Boulevard, South Whitehall Township, miraculously stood open.

A tall man, bundled up against an unexpectedly cold late fall morning, held the door wide.

I probably stumbled a little as I stammered my startled thanks.

Another View

Friday, December 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Womanikin to the rescue

I hope I am never in a situation when I would need cardiopulmonary resuscitation. But if I ever am, I also hope any individuals around me do not hesitate to perform CPR.

In a Dec. 7 NPR article titled “Meet the Womanikin — the breasted vest working to close the CPR gender gap,” Rachel Treisman writes, “Research shows that bystanders are less likely to perform CPR on women than men, and experts say superficial anatomical differences may lead people to assume chest compression must be performed differently on men and women, which is not true.”