East Penn Press

Saturday, May 25, 2019

Guest View

Thursday, February 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Tax Identity Theft

The “identity” of millions of individuals continues to be stolen by savvy thieves each year in the United States.

Today’s thieves are going after not just old bank statements, but old tax returns, and they are not just rooting through the trash, but are often using skimmers to collect credit card information or are getting information electronically through poorly safeguarded personal computers.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, February 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Treasure versus trash: When is the line crossed?

There was a brilliant mathematics teacher at the high school I attended. As the community was small, his children, who were also very smart, attended the same school.

Aside from what appeared to be their innate abilities in math and physics, I never suspected anything was different.

One day, a couple of friends and I, along with one of the teacher’s sons, went to his house.

I stepped inside the front door and could not believe what I saw.

Every inch of space — from floor to ceiling — was stacked with newspapers and books.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, January 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Minimum requirements for politicians should be established

To the Editor:

I believe we need to establish minimum requirements for our elected politicians and hold them accountable for each item listed.

•All politicians should be held to term limits.

•They should be required to attend a minimum 95 percent of scheduled voting of legislatures.

•If they fail to meet the 95 percent bench mark, their compensation is adjusted and forfeited accordingly to the percentage shortfall (this includes salary, pensions, medical insurances, expenses etc.).

Adaptive reuse is a strategy to preserve our history

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Years ago, before I knew what the buildings even were I remember driving past the former Allentown State Hospital and doing a double take. I pulled onto the campus and took a walk. The stately grounds and handsome buildings were stunning. A character and quality that doesn’t get built anymore. The hospital is now slated for demolition.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Because the boys watching today will be the men of tomorrow’

Have you seen the new Gillette commercial geared toward men that addresses bullying, toxic masculinity, sexual harassment and the #MeToo movement?

The commercial, which debuted Jan. 14 on social media, shows boys fighting while adults look on, saying “boys will be boys,” instances of bullying, clips of sexual harassment and more while the narrator asks, “Is this the best a man can get?”

The narrator continues by saying, “Something has changed and there is no going back,” while showing news clips of current events of sexual harassment and more.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.

Another View

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Early-morning ER trip Christmas Day

My husband, Joe, and I went to bed Christmas Eve filled with anticipation. We couldn’t wait for our 21-month-old son, Benjamin, to wake up Christmas morning to see what presents Santa had left on the living room floor next to the fireplace. We knew this Christmas would be even more exciting than last year’s holiday since Ben is older, very playful and understands better.

I wasn’t too worried about how Ben’s voice sounded Christmas Eve after dinner and while putting him to bed. I remember thinking to myself, ‘Darn — he’s getting a cold for the holidays.’

Guest View

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s give the cold shoulder to song’s critics

I am sure you have heard the ruckus raised in early December 2018 when several radio stations and Canadian broadcaster CBC Radio decided to ban the traditional Christmastime song “Baby, It’s Cold Outside,” one of the more outlandish offshoots of the #MeToo movement.

After numerous complaints of censorship, including a highly visible campaign by Star Trek star William Shatner, CBC restored the song to its Christmas lineup, as did two of the four radio stations that initiated the ban.