East Penn Press

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Another view

Tuesday, October 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The debate of birth control medication needs to end

Talk to any woman you know, and there’s a good chance she has used birth control medication at some point in her life.

In fact, according to a December 2014 Center for Disease Control and Prevention article on a National Survey of Family Growth study, 2011-13, “61.7 percent of the 60.9 million women aged 15-44 in the United States were currently using contraception.”

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all still in this life together’

Nearly 60 people were killed and more than 400 injured Oct. 2 when 64-year-old Stephen Paddock opened fire on attendees of an outdoor country music festival in Las Vegas. In the days since, we’ve read about or heard from survivors of the attack, who detailed the chaos and confusion during those moments.

Thousands were at this sold-out three-day concert, Route 91 Harvest Festival, which featured country music stars like Eric Church and Sam Hunt. Jason Aldean was on stage when the gunfire erupted. He is said to have called the scene “beyond horrific.”

Editor’s View

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Judge Edward Smith’s decision on Lehigh County seal is a lemon

The secular zealots who originally challenged Lehigh County’s official seal in 2015 will not be happy until all symbols of Christianity are removed from public view.

The Freedom From Religion Foundation in Wisconsin, which supported four Lehigh Valley members’ efforts to have the Latin cross in the center of the county seal removed, must be smiling smugly after a federal judge’s decision Sept. 28.

U.S. District Court Judge Edward Smith upheld the group’s viewpoint — well, sort of — that the Latin cross should not be part of the county government’s official seal.

Election Policy

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 7 municipal election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 4 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Celebrating the impact newspapers have on the community

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week is the time to celebrate the impact newspapers have on their communities, and to recognize the dedicated individuals who work diligently so that you, the reader, receive the news and information that you want and need, day in and day out. A free press is more important than ever and newspapers have always been at the forefront of serving our communities.

editor’s view

Thursday, September 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Equifax data breach means life will never be the same

Are you worried a complete stranger has your personal information?

It is very possible you are one of 143 million U.S. consumers to have had your birthday, Social Security number, driver’s license number, address and other personal information stolen from Equifax Inc.

I am “potentially” one of those consumers, according to the Equifax website.

Baffling to me is that, according to the announcement made Sept. 7, the breach was discovered July 29 and Equifax “acted immediately to stop the intrusion.”

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, September 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sixteen years and counting

Dear reader:

Monday marked the 16th anniversary of the fall of the World Trade Center towers.

Sixteen years.

In 2013, soon after I came to the office of The Press newspapers, my opportunity to write an editorial fell on Sept. 10. I wrote of personal recollections of that day; vacuuming the floor in my parents’ home in Upper Milford Township when news images began to flood television screens, anxiously awaiting for word of the whereabouts of my sister who was in New York City that day and others.

Emmaus Nativity Scene is ‘lost’ once again

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The Emmaus Nativity Scene once again is “Lost” on the side of the library.

At this location, foot traffic is close to zero and cars zip by at 25 mph.

Why was it moved from the Triangle in the first place?

I have never been given a plausible answer nor a logical reason as to why it could not be relocated to the Triangle – the center of the shopping district.

The pastors of Emmaus should be asking the same question.

There is more than enough room.

Another view

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

September is National Emergency Preparedness Month

A few weeks ago, I was making some toast in the toaster oven for breakfast. Little did I know, there were crumbs on the bottom just waiting to be burnt. Within a few seconds to a minute, a small flame started in the toaster oven, and I had a mini freak-out.

Not knowing exactly what to do correctly, on the spur of the moment, I unplugged the toaster oven and waited for a few seconds to see if the flame decreased. Thankfully, it did.

Allentown is more and less than meets the eye

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Knowing I live in downtown Allentown, people have been asking my opinion lately on the fate of the city that is the subject of so much publicity.

As a resident here for more than 50 years, after growing up in the Fogelsville area, I have experienced firsthand the rebirth of the downtown.

It looks great. It feels vibrant. Good stuff is happening here.

Sure I miss Hess’s and all the wonderful downtown stores, and I always will. Thankfully I have my sweet memories because those splendid businesses never are coming back to town.