East Penn Press

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Another view

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sesame Place first theme park with autism certification

April is National Autism Awareness Month. There are many ways people spread awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder, such as hosting special fundraisers, wearing blue or posting photos of the iconic colorful puzzle pieces.

On World Autism Awareness Day, which was April 2 this year, Sesame Place decided to kick it up a notch and announce it is officially designated as a Certified Autism Center.

The Bucks County children’s amusement park is the first theme park in the world to achieve CAC status.

Editor’s View

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And, what will you do when spring finally arrives?

The brave daffodils are long peeking through the frozen ground. Although bent over, as if weeping, they remain defiant, blooming bright yellow despite nighttime and early morning below freezing temperatures.

Patches of short, blue flowers cover the ground where the grass has dared not to grow.

Twigs and branches lay scattered across the backyard, ripped from the trees during damaging winds that marked this past winter.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another View

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will this surge of women running for political office change government?

Ever since the 1700s, most political offices in the United States have been held by men at both the state and federal levels.

However, all across America today, Americans are seeing a surge of women running for political offices.

Just recently, actress Cynthia Nixon announced she is running for New York governor.

According to the Center for American Women and Politics at Rutgers University website, approximately 708 women have filed to run in 2018, for either U.S. Congress or in statewide elections.

A community of ‘ones’

Thursday, March 29, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the aftermath of tragic events, I tend to feel very helpless and small. Even though my every day is jam-packed with activities that serve to improve the quality of life for others, I feel as if I somehow failed. It sounds a bit ridiculous because I could never directly make a difference for every single person out there, especially those who live far away and have no connection to me. Yet, I tend to think globally and wonder what I could have done to create a different outcome.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, March 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘All truths are easy to understand once discovered; the point is to discover them.’ – Galileo

It’s been a big week in space, so to speak.

An American astronaut was found to have altered his genes through space travel, the science and space savvy the world over celebrated the 16th letter of the Greek alphabet and a luminary scientist left us for worlds unknown.

Not that earthbound news did not keep headline readers and writers busy.

Another view

Thursday, March 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Gap Inc. normalizes breast-feeding in recent online ad

I’m one happy Gap customer. Not only do the company’s jeans fit me well, its ad posted online featuring a mother breast-feeding her child made me especially happy and proud.

During a recent photo shoot, Adaora Akubilo, the model in the photo, paused a moment during the shoot to breast-feed her son Arinze, who got hungry while she was working. The mother and son moment was posted on Instagram Feb. 22 with two photos and the hashtag #LoveByGapBody.

Some of the comments to the photos posted on Gap’s Instagram page include:

Guest View

Thursday, March 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sunshine Week: March 11-17

Truth. Facts. Transparency. Simple words that shine even more brightly as we celebrate Sunshine Week.

This appropriately named week, organized 13 years ago by The American Society of Newspaper Editors and Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, helps all of us realize the importance of what freedom of information truly means.

Information belongs in the hands of the people, and officials of government should never shield the public from this constitutional right.

State Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th, exits congressional race

Thursday, March 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

State Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th, announced March 2 he will exit the race for congress in the new 7th District created by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court.

“When the Supreme Court threw the congressional elections into upheaval through its overreach and activism, I was approached by residents of all parties from my state House district to circulate nominating petitions for that office,” Mackenzie stated. “I did that and have now officially filed for state representative. I feel an obligation to answer the request of the people I serve and focus on re-election to the state House.”