East Penn Press

Wednesday, June 3, 2020

election Policy

Thursday, May 14, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

Gov. Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 422 March 27, postponing the primary election to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 primary election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office or regarding those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 29 edition.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 7, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Happy Mother’s Day

I spotted a billboard along Route 22 this past weekend that gave me particular pause.

It read, When we cannot change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.

I understand the “we” in this statement can apply to a multitude of people locally and across this country, but one special group came to mind.

Sunday is Mother’s Day, and although life looks a little different these days, and the celebrations will as well, we must honor our mothers — for many of them look a little different these days, too.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 7, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to

Gov. Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 422 March 27, postponing the primary election to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 primary election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office or regarding those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 29 edition.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, May 7, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The Nursing Home COVID-19 Crisis

The nursing homes across the commonwealth are licensed and under the jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Department of Health. Tragically, we are seeing a high rate of COVID-19 cases and deaths in these facilities. Unfortunately, this is not surprising – senior care facilities serve many elderly residents who have underlying health conditions.

Legislator contacts

Thursday, April 30, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

STATE SENATE

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123

STATE HOUSE

Rep. Bob Freeman, D-136th

Office: 215 Northampton St., Easton

Phones: 610-253-5543; 717-783-3815

Another view

Thursday, April 30, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

It’s my birthday, and no one is invited

There’s one day of the year where you get to celebrate you — your birthday.

Most people celebrate by throwing a party with family and friends, sharing a meal out at a nice restaurant or going somewhere new and exciting. For many people, this is their favorite day of the year.

The COVID-19 pandemic shut down the country, with most states issuing stay-at-home or lock-down orders. This can put a cramp in your birthday plans, but people are finding nice ways to celebrate anyway.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 30, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to

Gov. Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 422 March 27, postponing the primary election to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 primary election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office or regarding those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 29 edition.

Guest View

Thursday, April 23, 2020 by DEBRA GRIFFIE in Opinion

Helping teens cope with COVID-19

The past few weeks have been very stressful for all of us.

COVID-19 has uprooted our routines, schedules and lifestyle.

Regardless of our age, most of us want to know the answers to four basic questions:

•Am I safe?

•Are the people caring for me safe?

•How am I going to be affected by this?

•When will life return to normal?

Adolescence is a challenging time no matter what the circumstances, but the coronavirus is making that even more difficult.

The teen years, by nature, are a very social time.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 23, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Gov. Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 422 March 27, postponing the primary election to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 primary election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office or regarding those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 30 edition.