East Penn Press

Monday, October 22, 2018

Another view

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in Obituaries

Let’s talk about it

September is National Suicide Prevention Month. This is a time to forget the stigma surrounding suicide and to share our stories and resources as a lifeline to others.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention lists suicide as the 10th leading cause of death in the United States. The World Health Organization recognizes suicide as a public health priority and reports approximately 800,000 people die from suicide every year.

‘Unopposed’ is key word in state House races

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In a year when both major political parties are underscoring the importance of the midterm elections, 41 percent of all Pennsylvania House of Representatives seats are not contested going into the Nov. 6 general election. That’s right: 83 of the 203 seats have just one candidate, usually the incumbent (the person already holding the office).

The Democrats have been much more successful than the Republicans in filling ballot positions. The rate has been 2 to 1.

There are no Republicans in 56 state House districts and no Democrats in 27 others.

Editor’s View

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Lest We Forget

Tuesday was the 17th anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center in New York City, N.Y., the Pentagon in Arlington County, Va., and the crash of Flight 93 into a field in Shanksville, Somerset County.

On July 25, the remains of a 26-year-old man who worked at the World Trade Center were identified as a result of advanced DNA testing.

The remains of Scott Michael Johnson, which were recovered after the attack, were identified by the forensic biology division of the New York City medical examiner’s office.

Rx for quality health care begins with education

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I walked into the room in the middle of a loud argument.

My relative’s roommate in a health-care facility was angry with staff for not getting him bathed and dressed by lunchtime. He was still in bed in his night-clothes.

When one of his relatives came to visit, he told her what had happened, and she reported his grievance to the facility’s nurse and administrator.

Ever since, he has been dressed and groomed at a reasonable morning hour.

It pays to have an advocate to watchdog and speak up on behalf of a hospital patient or health-care facility resident.

Another View

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Brighten someone’s day, show a little kindness

I was recently touched emotionally when I read an article on www.nytimes.com about an Argentine police officer and another on www.foxnews.com on celebrity Pink, both showing kindness to young children.

The first article written by Ernesto Londono and published Aug. 23 is titled, “Argentine Police Officer Promoted after Breastfeeding Neglected Baby.”

The article tells how Officer Celeste Ayala was promoted to sergeant after a photo of her breastfeeding a neglected baby at a hospital, while in uniform, went viral on the Internet.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, August 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the passing of a true hero

The nation was rocked again Aug. 25 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., 81, died from a brain tumor known as glioblastoma.

He was diagnosed in July 2017 following a procedure to remove a blood clot above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

McCain died nine years to the day after his friend Sen. Ted Kennedy, D-Mass., who had the same cancer, which affects 10,000 Americans each year.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, August 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s build again like we did last summer

It is blockbuster superhero movie season, and a sequel to a proven hit wrapped last month.

In July, 21 girls from the Lehigh Valley and beyond gathered at Associated Builders and Contractors Inc. Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter, Marcon Boulevard, Allentown, to participate in the second Let’s Build Camp, a weeklong program for young women/superheroes interested in architecture, engineering, construction, building and the construction trades.

Among many skills, campers learned to frame a wall, replace windows, make bricks, install siding and shingle roofs.

Another view

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Back to school time is upon us once again

It seems as if the end of the school year was just last week. But here we are, Aug. 15, and many schools begin classes Aug. 27.

Since August is when students return to school, this month is National Back to School Month.

According to nationaldaycalendar.com, “National Back to School Month has been observed since the 1960s.

Editor’s View

Thursday, August 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is it really worth driving around those barricades?

As the rain continued to fall Friday night and our local waterways rose ever higher, emergency personnel sounded the alarm, alerting residents a flash flood warning was in effect.

Cue the thunder, lightning and blinding downpours.

All phones in my house began to blare with the emergency notification, a signal not easily ignored. Police and fire departments posted messages on social media to tell residents of road closings due to creeks and streams spilling over their banks.

In the Lehigh Valley, 3-plus inches of rain had fallen from noon Friday to 8 a.m. Saturday.

Children sometimes have to make mistakes to learn from them

Thursday, August 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Over the years, I have written about how my three (now adult) children have vacillated between thinking their parents are bumbling idiots to believing that we are seers full of enlightenment and wisdom. As I move from being the parent to the consultant/coach for our youngest child, my ideas or suggestions are often met with “Yes, mother! I know that, mother!” Clearly, we are currently in bumbling idiot mode.