East Penn Press

Thursday, January 17, 2019

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.

Another View

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Early-morning ER trip Christmas Day

My husband, Joe, and I went to bed Christmas Eve filled with anticipation. We couldn’t wait for our 21-month-old son, Benjamin, to wake up Christmas morning to see what presents Santa had left on the living room floor next to the fireplace. We knew this Christmas would be even more exciting than last year’s holiday since Ben is older, very playful and understands better.

I wasn’t too worried about how Ben’s voice sounded Christmas Eve after dinner and while putting him to bed. I remember thinking to myself, ‘Darn — he’s getting a cold for the holidays.’

Guest View

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s give the cold shoulder to song’s critics

I am sure you have heard the ruckus raised in early December 2018 when several radio stations and Canadian broadcaster CBC Radio decided to ban the traditional Christmastime song “Baby, It’s Cold Outside,” one of the more outlandish offshoots of the #MeToo movement.

After numerous complaints of censorship, including a highly visible campaign by Star Trek star William Shatner, CBC restored the song to its Christmas lineup, as did two of the four radio stations that initiated the ban.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The healing power of pets

Before Christmas, my family committed to all staying home one night to watch holiday movies together.

As the time neared for the first film to begin, we found our pets had gathered in the living room as well, taking up a good portion of the couches. This is not an exaggeration. We have three dogs — and despite their alleged thinking, none of them is a true lap dog.

This happens pretty often. It’s not unusual to see one of us walk in the room, pause when we see the shortage of comfortable seating and choose to find a spot on the floor instead of moving a napping pet.

Another view

Friday, December 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Handcrafted Christmas gifts are made from the heart

Christmas is a time of giving and love. For many, the giving has overpowered the love and hidden the true meaning of the season.

During Christmas, we give gifts to show our loved ones we appreciate them and love having them in our lives. This is why we give. However, with events like Black Friday and Cyber Monday, we, as a society, tend to focus on buying the best new gadgets or getting a great price on those expensive toys. We focus more on what we are buying and not why. The expectation is to buy more and more each year and to continually up the ante.

Another View

Friday, December 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Keep loved ones, pets safe from fire this holiday season

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, a meal, sing, decorate and exchange gifts.

The holiday season can be especially difficult if a fire were to break out in a home and kill a loved one.

According to local media, a body of one man was found following a fire in Whitehall; a second fire recently displaced nine people and killed a dog.

The body of a man, approximately 50, was found after a fire occurred around 10 p.m. Dec. 7 at Spring Ridge Apartments, 1308 N. 13th St., Whitehall Township.

Editor’s View

Friday, December 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Making Christmas memories

“And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.

Editor’s View

Thursday, December 6, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Decluttering is good for our health and happiness

Thank you all who commented on my Oct. 17 Editor’s View on dealing with our Generation Y, Z and millennial family members.

It is good to know I am not alone in my frustration with our younger generation not wanting “things” – instead, wanting experiences.

Since that Editor’s View, conversations have continued with the fact our children and grandchildren will not want our “things” when we are gone.

I am a person who sees the value of and appreciates the connection with “things” from my grandparents, which my youngest has already said he does not want.

That chronic chest cold may be more than you think

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The nasty cycle repeated itself for decades.

Verna, a public school teacher, would suffer a serious bout of bronchitis.

A week of antibiotics knocked out the infection enough that she would feel ready to return to the classroom.

Two weeks later the bronchitis was back.

So were the antibiotics.

After repeated bronchial infections year after year, she finally sought the opinion of a pulmonary specialist.

In-depth testing and a CT scan showed she had bronchiectasis, a lung condition that results in respiratory damage.