East Penn Press

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Another view

Thursday, July 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Engage your child’s mind!

Ahhh … it’s the summer – when kids rejoice in having no homework, assignments and school responsibilities for a few months.

But is that really a good thing? A New York Times op-ed contributor says no, it’s not, according to a July 27, 2011 article.

Jeff Smink said, “If students are not engaged in learning over the summer, they lose skills in math and reading. Summers off are one of the most important, yet least acknowledged, causes of underachievement in our schools.”

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, July 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Proceed with caution

A TV commercial for a network of treatment centers encourages drug addicts to contact them for rehab. Another has New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie warning there is an epidemic of opioid addiction, but addicts have a way out.

“Help is within reach,” he says.

We have all seen these commercials, but perhaps you have not been – as I have – swallowing an oxycodone tablet while watching them.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It takes a village

Last week, people took to social media about an incident in the Village of Hokendauqua, Whitehall Township.

A neighborhood block had been taped off by police, cruisers and other emergency vehicles lined the street, and word spread that the coroner had been called to the scene because two bodies were discovered there.

Some surmised online that it was an overdose. Some suspected a murder-suicide. The latter might have seemed a bit far-fetched had Whitehall not had such a tragedy the week before.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, June 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fighting for your life with the help of medicine, family, friends

It was difficult keeping such a rare cancer diagnosis from my sister and her family and my close friends; however, by doing so, I was able to ignore the disease and accept each day as it came.

I now look back and realize how careless and irrational my decision was to try to conceal such a disease. Concealing the disease ate away at my conscience and ultimately my physical body.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Politicians need to call an extended Christmas Truce to their rancor

Snoopy’s Christmas

“Christmas bells, those Christmas bells

Ring out from the land

Asking peace of all the world

And good will to man ...

“The Baron had Snoopy dead in his sights

He reached for the trigger to pull it up tight

Why he didn’t shoot, well, we’ll never know...

“The Baron made Snoopy fly to the Rhine

And forced him to land behind the enemy lines

Snoopy was certain that this was the end

When the Baron cried out, “Merry Christmas, my friend!” ...

“The Baron then offered a holiday toast

Another View

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Global approach necessary to combat climate change’s environmental effects

On June 1, President Donald Trump announced he was withdrawing the United States from the Paris Climate Agreement, saying the agreement is less about the climate and more about other countries gaining a financial advantage over the United States.

So, what is the Paris Climate Agreement and its terms?

Writing a new story

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The off-the-top-of-the-head answer to the question, ”What motivates you to go to work each day?” for most of us is, “To put food on the table and pay the bills.”

But, there is usually a much deeper reason — a passion that draws us to our particular line of work.

For me, it is the morning news.

Whether it is the sunrise edition on TV, the digital version of the local paper or the actual hard copy, I seem to pick up on the same message: Families are struggling with raising their children.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate.

My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher” and “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a matter of trust

I am having a hard time watching television these days, and I suspect many are in the same situation. The Hallmark Channel has now become my “go to” station.

To me, it seems we have lost our sense of trust, decency, manners and security.

Recently, this is just some of what we have been exposed to:

•A comedian holding an inappropriate image of our president

•People physically removed from planes, because of overbooking

•Concert-goers, travelers and people attempting to enjoy their lives hurt or killed by ISIS