East Penn Press

Sunday, July 15, 2018

LETTER to the editor

Thursday, July 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Curbing canine carrier attacks

Dear Editor:

The employees of the Easton and Bethlehem Post Offices are strategizing to find ways to reduce dog attacks on carriers. We are engaging in a project that includes education and information for employees, and dog owner participation in our communities.

When you consider that last year, eight postal employees were victims of dog attacks in our local post offices (Easton, Allentown, Bethlehem, Coopersburg and Macungie), and we have had a few more attacks this year, you can understand our concern.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, July 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Tragedy at Capital Gazette hits close to home

The tragedy at the Capital Gazette in Annapolis hit close to home for me and two of my colleagues. Brad Simpson, chief financial officer, PA NewsMedia Association, Robin Quillon, publisher of The Tribune-Democrat in Johnstown, and myself were meeting in a conference room just outside of the newsroom at the same newspaper that would be the topic of breaking news just a couple of hours later.

I remember one victim who walked by me. Sunglasses, hat and a grumpy hello and I said to myself ... yeah, he is a news guy.

Another view Whose ox is being gored?

Thursday, July 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

As a liberal Democrat, I’ve been appalled by the potential harm done to our country by President Trump’s administration, particularly to the environment and to our relationships with the rest of the world. But I agree with the Trump supporters who have decried the attacks on administration officials in restaurants and other areas of their private lives. There’s no excuse for asking people to leave a restaurant because you don’t agree with their policies, or for harassing them in public places.

Booms actually scare people, young and old

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Quality of Life!?

What does that mean exactly?

Being retired and trying to enjoy our home, has become impossible!

Since the firework law has been passed, our fellow Salisbury “children,” have had nothing else better to do, than make noise. We hear M-80s, see Bottle Rockets, (in our yard) and hear cannons going off at all different hours.

Holiday or no holiday – no ones cares.

Have become trapped in our own home, with windows and doors closed.

Porch? Nope, can’t do it.

Care for the caregiver first

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A few weeks ago I heard a startling statistic that frightened me.

During a caregivers’ class at a local hospital, the facilitator told attendees that 80 percent of caregivers die before their patient does.

Initially, that news sounded unbelievable. Surely there was some mistake.

But the more I thought about that high figure, the more sense it made.

Often caregivers are consumed by the strenuous routine required in providing 24-hour care for a loved one who is dependent on them.

According to studies, the care-giving role is tremendously stressful.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A reading adventure awaits at the library

An old, yellowed newspaper clipping is secured on my refrigerator with a magnet. It reads:

“You may have tangible wealth untold; caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you can never be — I had a mother who read to me,” from “The Reading Mother” by Strickland Gillilan in “The Read Aloud Handbook”

I put this quote on my refrigerator when I was pregnant with my first child, approximately 25 years ago. I learned if I read to my children before they were born, they would recognize my voice after they were born, and that was true.

Another View

Thursday, June 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Suicide: It’s affecting more and more families every day

“Money does not create happiness.”

— Proverb

On June 5, fashion designer Kate Brosnahan Spade was found dead in her apartment by her housekeeper. The 55-year-old died by suicide.

Three days later, celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain took his own life in France while working on his CNN television series. He was 61.

I remember hearing of the death of actor Robin Williams in 2014. I loved his movies, especially “Patch Adams” and “Dead Poets Society.” I think any character he played, he performed well and with passion.