East Penn Press

Sunday, September 24, 2017

editor’s view

Thursday, September 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Equifax data breach means life will never be the same

Are you worried a complete stranger has your personal information?

It is very possible you are one of 143 million U.S. consumers to have had your birthday, Social Security number, driver’s license number, address and other personal information stolen from Equifax Inc.

I am “potentially” one of those consumers, according to the Equifax website.

Baffling to me is that, according to the announcement made Sept. 7, the breach was discovered July 29 and Equifax “acted immediately to stop the intrusion.”

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, September 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sixteen years and counting

Dear reader:

Monday marked the 16th anniversary of the fall of the World Trade Center towers.

Sixteen years.

In 2013, soon after I came to the office of The Press newspapers, my opportunity to write an editorial fell on Sept. 10. I wrote of personal recollections of that day; vacuuming the floor in my parents’ home in Upper Milford Township when news images began to flood television screens, anxiously awaiting for word of the whereabouts of my sister who was in New York City that day and others.

Emmaus Nativity Scene is ‘lost’ once again

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The Emmaus Nativity Scene once again is “Lost” on the side of the library.

At this location, foot traffic is close to zero and cars zip by at 25 mph.

Why was it moved from the Triangle in the first place?

I have never been given a plausible answer nor a logical reason as to why it could not be relocated to the Triangle – the center of the shopping district.

The pastors of Emmaus should be asking the same question.

There is more than enough room.

Another view

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

September is National Emergency Preparedness Month

A few weeks ago, I was making some toast in the toaster oven for breakfast. Little did I know, there were crumbs on the bottom just waiting to be burnt. Within a few seconds to a minute, a small flame started in the toaster oven, and I had a mini freak-out.

Not knowing exactly what to do correctly, on the spur of the moment, I unplugged the toaster oven and waited for a few seconds to see if the flame decreased. Thankfully, it did.

Allentown is more and less than meets the eye

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Knowing I live in downtown Allentown, people have been asking my opinion lately on the fate of the city that is the subject of so much publicity.

As a resident here for more than 50 years, after growing up in the Fogelsville area, I have experienced firsthand the rebirth of the downtown.

It looks great. It feels vibrant. Good stuff is happening here.

Sure I miss Hess’s and all the wonderful downtown stores, and I always will. Thankfully I have my sweet memories because those splendid businesses never are coming back to town.

Gov. Tom Wolf announces PSSA testing reduction

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf has announced a reduction in standardized testing for students in the commonwealth.

According to an Aug. 14 news release from the governor’s office, “The change to the Pennsylvania System of School Assessment will reduce the length of the tests by 20 percent in grades three through eight.”

Wolf commented on the change during a “Schools That Teach” tour stop at Susquehanna Middle School, Dauphin County, with state Secretary of Education Pedro Rivera.

DISTRICT NEWS

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 by State Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th in Opinion

We shouldn’t spend money we don’t have; Why I voted ‘No’ on the state budget

Formulating a $31.9 billion budget for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is a big undertaking. Putting together our annual budget is an essential part of my job as a state legislator and a responsibility I take very seriously. My philosophy, similar to most household budgets, is to “live within our means.” Simply put, I believe we should not spend more than we have available. In the case of the state, we have revenue that is generated each year in the form of taxes and fees and that is the money we can use to fund the budget.

Another view

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Saying goodbye to the job I love

Sixteen years is a long time. I don’t think I’ve realized just how long until I started cleaning out my office desk. It’s been 16 years and about nine months since I first came to work for East Penn Publishing, now called The Press weekly newspapers.

In a short time, I will step into a life of retirement — a season of my life which I hope will also last a long time. In anticipation of that final day in the office, I’ve been cleaning out my desk, one file at a time, and have come across a lot of memories.

Guest view

Thursday, August 24, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The final bell rings

Although the radiation doctor said the side effects would ramp up as treatments progressed, I raised my head and shoulders and pushed forward to the finish line.

My final radiation treatment was Aug. 15. After six weeks of receiving treatments, Monday through Friday, I can officially say I am finished with this stage of cancer treatment.

My final day consisted of a tradition shared by all who complete their course of cancer treatment: I rang a bell signifying the end of radiation.