East Penn Press

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Another View

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all in this together’

My last Another View opinion piece was published Feb. 5 and 6 in The Press newspapers. The headline — “Coronavirus is not what you should be worried about in U.S.”

I was wrong.

I never thought our country would see the troubles it currently is having.

The actions being taken to combat COVID-19 is disrupting every part of American lives — work, education, places of worship, hospitals, businesses for leisurely activities, family and friend gatherings and more.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, March 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Their secrets are not safe with us

Most of us prefer sunshine. It’s rare to hear someone say, “That was a nice, cloudy day.”

We’re invigorated by a glorious sunrise and spend hours outdoors on brilliantly sunny days.

As John Denver so succinctly sang, “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.”

In journalism, the reference to sunshine takes on an equally important meaning. Each year in March, news media organizations across the country celebrate Sunshine Week.

Election Policy

Thursday, March 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers

As we approach the April 28 General Primary, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Thursday, March 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’

There’s a saying, We plan, and God laughs.

News of COVID-19, the new strain of the coronavirus, creeping ever closer to our neighborhoods has brought much anxiety to our lives. Add to that the cancellations of community activities, some of which we rely on to bring happiness and a sense of calm.

Daily we find ourselves looking for ways to keep our loved ones safe.

This requires some planning. But for so many, this planning can be overwhelming — even seemingly impossible.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 11, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The district’s proposal is short-sighted, last-minute and ill-received

To the Editor:

As a Salisbury Township resident, parent and educator, I have many serious concerns about the proposal to close Western Salisbury Elementary School abruptly at the end of the school year. At the public hearing on March 4, hundreds of parents and community members gathered to hear the administration’s presentation about consolidating grades K-4 at Truman Elementary and sending all district fifth graders to middle school.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, March 5, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

One thing leads to another ...

Well, the roof started leaking the day of the heavy rain at the end of January.

If it wasn’t for stepping in the puddle on the bedroom floor, I would not have looked up to see the telltale water marks on the ceiling.

That meant a trip up the stairs to the attic.

However, before being able to do that, I had to remove the bins full of clothes and Christmas decorations that didn’t quite make it all the way up to the attic and were precariously stacked on the steps.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘American Dirt’ – a tale of controversy

“American Dirt” is the latest controversy sweeping the nation.

As if we don’t have enough controversy.

This controversy is about a new novel written by Jeanine Cummins and published by Flatiron Books.

This is a piece of fiction.

The story is about Lydia Quizano Pérez, who lives in Acapulco, Mexico, with her husband, a journalist, and their 8-year-old son. She runs a bookstore.

As the drug cartels take over the city, Lydia’s husband writes a tell-all profile of the newest drug cartel leader.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, February 12, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Can a ‘new species of life’ help with a very human problem?

Early this year, a buzz was emanating from Las Vegas having little to do with high voltage light displays, dancers dressed in crystal bedazzled costumes or shiny quarters spilling from slot machines.

NEON debuted at CES 2020, the annual global consumer electronics show held in January.

NEON, funded by a lab in the Samsung technology behemoth, is described as an “artificial human” on its webpage, www.neon.life and by tech industry watcher C/NET as “a new species of life from humans,” according to the vision of NEON CEO Pranav Mistry.