East Penn Press

Friday, November 16, 2018

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcards, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.

Another View

Thursday, November 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering why we celebrate

Veterans Day celebrates all who served our country honorably in both war and peace.

According to the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Day was originally called Armistice Day and observed the anniversary of the end of World War I, Nov. 11, 1919. This day has continued as a celebration of those who served our country. It was declared a national holiday in 1938, and the name change became official in 1954.

Armistice Day was made a national holiday “to be dedicated to the cause of world peace,” according to the USDVA.

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The monsters among us

The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference. Because of indifference, one dies before one actually dies. To be in the window and watch people being sent to concentration camps or being attacked in the street and do nothing, that’s being dead. (Elie Wiesel, Holocaust survivor, U.S. News & World Report, Oct. 27, 1986)

Look to your left. Look to your right. Look behind you and in front of you.

‘There is absolutely no justification for such an act...’

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley is deeply shocked at the horrific incident of mass shooting at Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh. There is absolutely no justification for such an act in any religion. We offer our heartfelt condolences to the families of those killed or injured. Our prayers are with all those that are affected by these senseless atrocities.

LETTERs TO THE EDITOR

Friday, October 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Marty Nothstein is the ‘political outsider’ we urgently need to represent the 7th District

Dear Editor,

Marty Nothstein is a champion; a gold medal cyclist in the 2000 Olympic Games.

As a person, he has internalized the discipline, hard work, hardship and rigorous resolve that are fundamental in the success and victory for achieving one’s goals in life.

All of these attributes aside, Nothstein has also succeeded as a leader at the nonprofit Valley Preferred Cycling Center, wherein he distinguished himself improving the organization’s finances and expanding its community outreach goals.

Writer says she is voting for Pinsley

Friday, October 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I believe Mark Pinsley is the best choice for Pennsylvania Senate in the 16th District.

Pinsley is a fresh face in a chamber that has become too entrenched with incumbents who don’t act in the best interest of we, the people.

It is our time now to vote these elected officials out and replace them with a new class that will work for us. Pinsley is just the one to do that.

Pinsley has served both his country and community.

Another View

Friday, October 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hurricane Michael survivors need our help

One of the most powerful storms to hit the United States slammed into the Florida panhandle as a Category 4 hurricane on Oct. 10 before moving on to Georgia, the Carolinas and Virginia.

After the storm hit, I was glued to the television to watch live news broadcasts on the destruction of Hurricane Michael.

As I watched TV the next day, one Weather Channel broadcast on the aftermath of Hurricane Michael touched me emotionally.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Retain 100 acres of the Weiner Tract for a park

To the Editor:

The commissioners of Lower Macungie Township should be commended for purchasing the Wiener Tract on Sauerkraut Lane and Brookside Road for farming.

Unfortunately our commissioners plan to sell easements on the entire tract to defray part of the purchase price.

Selling farmland easements prohibits all use except farming. A better option which I suggested to our commissioners last month, is to retain 100 acres along the stream for a park at a later date. This land would be contiguous with the present township recreational land.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the end of bar soap and more

This is not an obituary.

Nor is it a political commentary.

This Editor’s View mourns the death of things I and many others grew up with, including bar soap and top sheets.

Yes, that’s right. According to a recent news article, Generation Z individuals born between 1995 and 2010 and millennials born between 1981 and 1996 are changing the world as we know it — for those individuals have stated they no longer use bar soap, only liquid soap.

And, they don’t use top sheets.

Top sheets? Will a sheet set soon only come with a fitted sheet and pillowcases?