East Penn Press

Sunday, May 28, 2017

Another view

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A home away from home

This is my first Another View column since coming back to Pennsylvania from Florida. No, it wasn’t a vacation. My husband and I adopted a beautiful baby boy, Benjamin, who was born March 21 — three weeks early.

We had been in the general adoption process for about a year and had waited around six and a half months to be matched with a birth mother. Two days before Christmas, we got “the call” from our caseworker that a woman who viewed our adoption profile thought we were the ones. On March 21, he was born 10:10 p.m. and we flew down early in the morning to meet our greatest joy.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Beware the results of unsecured technological advancements

Many things in life are like a double-edged sword.

A mother’s love can be warm and nurturing. That same “love” can be smothering and controlling.

Fathers and others who coach youth sports teams can draw out the best from young players, or they can be overbearing tyrants more interested in winning than teaching skills that can be used throughout life.

Water and fire are necessary for life. They also can be devastating and deadly.

Election Policy

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the April 19 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate needed to be received by The Press no later than April 28.

Obscene, profane and vulgar

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Many Americans have been astonished that the media are allowing the use of words which, until just a few years ago, were considered off-limits.

Readers are certainly more tolerant and less shocked than when I started my journalism career nearly 57 years ago. The same is true of other media, too. The word “virgin” in the 1953 movie “The Moon Is Blue” caused such a national scandal that it resulted in its being condemned by the Roman Catholic Church. Remember when Lucy and Desi, despite being married with children, slept in separate beds?

Why should someone be denied entrance due to gender?

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

What do you think about changing laws passed in 1916?

Sydney Irelend, 15, was denied being part of Boy Scouts because of her gender.

After reading, “15-year-old girl denied permission to join Boy Scouts because of gender” [Sophia Hall, CBS News New York], I know Sydney should be allowed to join Boy Scouts. Even if Sydney isn’t male, she should still be allowed to participate in this American club.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 19 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.

Postal service asks residents to secure pets

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

In April, the United States Postal Service promoted National Dog Bite Prevention Week. I am writing to ask our customers to extend their efforts and help make this “National Dog Bite Prevention Year.”

Pet owners’ efforts are critical when you consider the number of postal service employees attacked by dogs last year reached 6,755 – more than 200 higher than the year before. Within the Emmaus Post Office, there has been one dog attack since the beginning of the year.

‘We should all stop judging books by their covers’

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

If you wanted something so badly, would you go after it?

A 15-year-old girl, named Sydney Ireland, did go after what she wanted. Her dream was to join the Boy Scouts, but they denied her due to a rule that was made in 1916.

Labeling people is wrong!

For example, just because boys are stronger than girls, it does not keep them from doing the same activities every day.