East Penn Press

Monday, October 22, 2018
CONTRIBUTED PHOTOLiana Panik Copyright -       CONTRIBUTED PHOTOLiana Panik Copyright -

STUDENT OF THE WEEK

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by BEVERLY SPRINGER Special to The Press in Local News

Liana Panik

Q. In what grade are you currently enrolled?

A. I am currently enrolled in 12th grade at Emmaus High School.

Q. What is your favorite subject? Why?

A. My favorite subject is science. I really enjoy biology because it is interesting to learn about what makes life possible and what causes all the diversity of life. I enjoy science classes over other subjects because I enjoy performing experiments and learning through other hands-on activities.

Q. Have you received any special awards or recognition?

A. This year I earned the Outstanding 4-H’er award in the senior division for my active participation in the Lehigh County 4-H Equine Club. For this award, I received a scholarship to attend the National 4-H Conference in Atlanta, Ga., in November.

Q. Are you involved in any extracurricular activities?

A. I spend most of my free time training my 4-year-old horse, Keno, in the sport of barrel racing and gymkhana. I have ridden horses since I was eight years old, but I finally purchased my first horse a year and a half ago. During warmer months, I compete in barrel races and gymkhanas.

Q. I am the president of the Lehigh County 4-H Equine Club, of which I have been a member of since I was 12. In this club, I meet with fellow equestrians to learn more about horses.

A. In school, I am a member of National Honor Society, the German National Honor Society, German Club and Interact Club.

Q. What is your next goal after high school?

A. After high school, I will attend Temple University to study biology in the honors program. I plan to attend graduate school for veterinary medicine, to eventually become a large or small animal veterinarian.

Q. What do you consider your biggest challenge to date?

A. The biggest challenge I have faced so far in my life is adjusting my life to my parents’ divorce. Through this, I learned to manage my own schedule and keep track of my own activities. I think this challenge helped me become more independent, so I feel more confident about living on my own after high school.

Q. For what would you like to be remembered?

A. I would like to be remembered as kind, smart, hardworking and easy to get along with.

Q. Who is in your family?

A. My father is Jim and my older siblings are Elisa and Aaron. My mother is Alison. I have a dog named Cooper, three cats named Meeka, Jasper and Bella and a horse named Keno.

Q. Whom do you admire? Why?

A. I admire my mother because she has always supported me in doing what I love and striving to be my best self.

Q. Do you have any advice for your peers?

A. My advice is to always persevere in what you are passionate about, whether that be academics, a sport, an art or some other activity because that is where you will find your joy in life.