East Penn Press

Monday, August 26, 2019
CONTRIBUTED PHOTO Twenty-three eighth grade students graduate from Swain School recently during a special ceremony at the school. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO Twenty-three eighth grade students graduate from Swain School recently during a special ceremony at the school.

Swain School graduates 23 eighth graders

Wednesday, July 17, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Local News

The Swain School, 1100 S. 24th St., Allentown graduated 23 members of its eighth grade Class of 2013 at ceremonies June 7. Two members of the class, Giuliana Augello, of Coopersburg, and Zach Lawless, of Bethlehem, addressed the gathering of family, friends, fellow students, faculty and staff.

Swain alumnus Chris Scagliotti, Class of 1993, presented the commencement address.

Diplomas were presented by Head of School Todd Stansbery, Middle School Director Kyle Armstrong and Linda Noonan, chair of Swain's Board of Trustees to Taylor Attix, of Easton; Giuliana Augello, of Coopersburg; Marcy Bardman, of Barto; Ben Becker, of Center Valley; Meg Bennett, of Bethlehem; Hannah Chiesa, of Lenhartsville; Sarah Chiesa, of Lenhartsville; Mary Dent, of Allentown; Jeff Hummel, of Easton; Steven Jiang, of Macungie; Connor Kasarda, of Center Valley; Gabrielle Kelly, of Fogelsville; Rachael Kraft, of Nazareth; Zach Lawless, of Bethlehem; Sophia Molinaro, of Allentown; James Phelan, of Macungie; Jenna Popp, of Walnutport; Michael Pulcini, of Center Valley; Alex Rakos, of Laurys Station; Garrett Richards, of Coplay; Gianna Rutgers, of Center Valley; Christian Simmons, of Allentown; and Gabrielle Thompson, of Allentown.

Five members of the class– Becker, Kelly, Molinaro, Phelan and Rakos– were honored as "lifers:" students who started in Swain's three-year-old program and attended Swain through eighth grade.

The Susan E. Clegg Memorial Award, given to the student who best represents the qualities of kindness and consideration for others and who exemplifies the spirit of harmony and unity in the middle school was presented to Augello.

The Swain School Award, awarded each year to the student who best reflects the qualities of citizenship, scholarship and sportsmanship, was presented to Becker.

The James Edgar Swain Memorial Award, awarded to the student who best represents the spirit of The Swain School in terms of honor, integrity and commitment to high ideals was presented to Bardman.

Head of School Society, awarded to those students who maintain an A- or better average for each marking period for grades six through eight was presented to Bardman, Becker, Lawless and Popp.

The first-ever Krista Kelly Memorial Award was presented by Brendan Kelly and his daughters Gabrielle, Class of 2013 and Emma, Class of 2015 in memory of their late wife and mother, a former history teacher at The Swain School. This award is given to recognize the eighth grade student who has exemplified outstanding citizenship and a love for the study of history, and was presented to Dent.